Ogonna Nnamani Wins Honda-Broderick Cup

June 29, 2005

Stanford, Calif. - Volleyball superstar Ogonna Nnamani, a member of the 2004 U.S. Women's Olympic Team and a student at Stanford University, has been named the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. The announcement was made today by the Collegiate Women Sports Awards program in the Low Library at Columbia University in New York City, where Nnamani received the 29th annual Honda-Broderick Cup. She joins past winners that include some of the most talented and accomplished collegiate athletes in recent history, including: Jackie Joyner-Kersee (track & field, 1984); Mia Hamm (soccer, 1994), Cheryl Miller (basketball, 1983) and Ann Meyers (1978, basketball).

Nnamani was among five finalists, chosen by NCAA member schools. This year's other finalists for the Honda-Broderick Cup included: Seimone Augustus of Louisiana State University (basketball); Kirsty Coventry of Auburn University (swimming); Monique Henderson of UCLA (track & field); and Cat Osterman of the University of Texas (softball).

Nnamani was selected as winner of the Honda-Broderick Cup by a vote of the Board of Directors of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program.Nnamani hails from Normal, IL. A senior majoring in Biology/Chemistry, she's an outside hitter who led her team to an NCAA championship this year and was voted the most outstanding player of the Final Four tournament after setting an NCAA record with 62 kills in the semifinal and final matches. Her 823 kills for this year's season set both conference and school records and ranks seventh in all-time NCAA competition.

The Stanford star also holds the conference record for career kills--2450--placing her sixth in all-time NCAA rankings. Nnamani was an NCAA Today's Top Eight Award recipient and was tabbed ESPN The Magazine's Volleyball Academic All-American of the Year (University division). She also competed in Athens as a member of the 2004 U.S. Women's Olympic Volleyball Team.

With Nnamani's win, the Honda-Broderick Cup has now gone to the volleyball nominee for the third time. Deitre Collins of the University of Hawaii won in 1982/1983 and Misty May of Long Beach State University won in 1998/1999.

Individual Honda Award winners, in each of the 12 sports in addition to the final five included: Kim Smith of Providence College (cross country); Kelly Dostal of Wake Forest (field hockey); Anna Grzebien of Duke University (golf);Kristen Maloney of UCLA (gymnastics); Kristen Kjellman of Northwestern University (lacrosse); Leslie Osborne of Santa Clara University (soccer); and Zuzana Zemenova of Baylor University (tennis).

The 12 Honda Award winners were selected by vote of the NCAA member schools.

American Honda Motor Co., Inc. sponsors the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder