Philip, O'Callaghan on Outland Trophy Watch List

June 29, 2005

BERKELEY - California senior offensive linemen Marvin Philip and Ryan O'Callaghan have been named to the 2005 Outland Trophy Watch List, the Football Writers Association of America announced today. Thirty-six standout linemen from around the country have been nominated for consideration in the preseason.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best interior offensive or defensive lineman in college football since 1946. The winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which selects the association's 25-man team and picks three Outland Trophy finalists.

Philip, the Golden Bears' starting center, earned first team All-Pac-10 and second team Associated Press All-America honors last fall. He was also a finalist for the 2005 Rimington Trophy, which goes to the top center in the country. For this season, The Sporting News has tabbed Philip as the nation's No. 1 center, while Street & Smith's College Football magazine named him a first team preseason All-American.

O'Callaghan, who holds down the right tackle spot for Cal, also claimed first team All-Pac-10 honors last year. Street & Smith's placed him on its preseason third team All-America and first team All-Pac-10 squads.

The 2005 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 8 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee and First Data Corporation, is set for Jan. 12, 2006, in Omaha, Neb.

Oklahoma offensive tackle Jammal Brown won the 2004 Outland Trophy. Former Outland winner Ron Yary from USC (1967) will make the announcement of the 2005 winner in Orlando.Additional Outland Trophy candidates may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration.

2005 Outland Trophy Preseason Watch List

Jesse Boone, OL, Utah
J. B. Closner, C, Alabama
Daryn Colledge, OT, Boise State
Ryan Cook, C, New Mexico
Mike Degory, C, Florida
Greg Eslinger, C, Minnesota
Steve Fifita, DL, Utah
D'Brickashaw Ferguson, OT, Virginia
Orien Harris, DT, Miami (Fla.)
Manase Hopoi, DT, Washington
T. J. Jackson, NG, Auburn
Max Jean-Gilles, OL, Georgia
Davin Joseph, G, Oklahoma
Jake Kuresa, OL, BYU
Travis Leffew, OL, Louisville
Matt Lentz, G, Michigan
Dylan Lineberry, G, North Texas
Josh Linehan, G, Oregon State
Grayling Love, OT, Arizona State
Jesse Mahelona, DT, Tennessee
Nick Mangold, C, Ohio State
Garrett McIntyre, DT, Fresno State
Marcus McNeill, OT, Auburn
Dan Mozes, G, West Virginia
Haloti Ngata, DT, Oregon
Ryan O'Callaghan, OT, California
Marvin Philip, C, California

Samson Satele, G, Hawaii
Jonathan Scott, OT, Texas
Mark Setterstrom, OL, Minnesota
Ben Siegert, DT, Oregon State
Gabe Watson, DT, Michigan
Andrew Whitworth, OT, LSU
Jon Wilson, C, Air Force
Eric Winston, OT, Miami (Fla.)
Rodrique Wright, DT, Texas

For more information on the Outland Trophy, go to the official website,,

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network