ASU's Grayling Love On 2005 Outland Trophy Watch List

June 30, 2005

The Football Writers Association of America has announced the 2005 Outland Trophy Watch List and Arizona State University offensive lineman Grayling Love is among the candidates. Thirty-six standout linemen from around the country have been nominated for consideration in the preseason.

Love is the leader of a talented and deep offensive line that will be one of the strengths of this year's team. Love, of Sacramento, California, will be a three-year starter this season. He is a smart, versatile player who can and has played every spot on the line. Last spring Love was recognized as the Hard Hat Co-Champion for his work in ASU's winter strength and conditioning program. That marked the third straight season that he has earned Hard Hat recognition (top 10 last year).

In 2004 Love started all 12 games, including six games at left tackle and six at right guard. He earned first-team All-Pac-10 honors, the second all-league selection of his career. He was named to the All-Pac-10 squad and was also a first-team Pac-10 All-Academic selection. The 2005 graduate was one of two players in the Pac-10 to be named to the all-conference and all-academic first teams. He earned first-team CoSIDA Academic All-District honors and was awarded the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame postgraduate scholarship (Valley of the Sun chapter). Love was the winner of ASU's Outstanding Offensive Lineman Award at the season-end banquet. He was a key contributor on a passing offense that led the Pac-10 and ranked fifth in the nation at 317.3 yards per game.

The Outland Trophy has been awarded to the best offensive or defensive lineman in college football since 1946. The winner is selected by the FWAA's All-America Committee, which selects the association's 25-man team and picks three Outland Trophy finalists.

The 2005 Outland Trophy announcement will be on Dec. 8 in Orlando, Fla., on the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee and First Data Corporation, is set for Jan. 12, 2006, in Omaha, Neb.

Additional Outland Trophy candidates may be added during the course of the season. Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration. Here is the 2005 list:

2005 OUTLAND TROPHY PRESEASON WATCH LISTJesse Boone, OL, UtahJ. B. Closner, C, AlabamaDaryn Colledge, OT, Boise StateRyan Cook, C, New MexicoMike Degory, C, FloridaGreg Eslinger, C, MinnesotaSteve Fifita, DL, UtahD'Brickashaw Ferguson, OT, VirginiaOrien Harris, DT, Miami (Fla.)Manase Hopoi, DT, WashingtonT. J. Jackson, NG, AuburnMax Jean-Gilles, OL, GeorgiaDavin Joseph, G, OklahomaJake Kuresa, OL, BYUTravis Leffew, OL, LouisvilleMatt Lentz, G, MichiganDylan Lineberry, G, North TexasJosh Linehan, G, Oregon StateGrayling Love, OT, Arizona StateJesse Mahelona, DT, TennesseeNick Mangold, C, Ohio StateGarrett McIntyre, DT, Fresno StateMarcus McNeill, OT, AuburnDan Mozes, G, West VirginiaHaloti Ngata, DT, OregonRyan O'Callaghan, OT, CaliforniaMarvin Philip, C, CaliforniaSamson Satele, G, HawaiiJonathan Scott, OT, TexasMark Setterstrom, OL, MinnesotaBen Siegert, DT, Oregon StateGabe Watson, DT, MichiganAndrew Whitworth, OT, LSUJon Wilson, C, Air ForceEric Winston, OT, Miami (Fla.)Rodrique Wright, DT, Texas

The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 900 men and women across North America who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards, a national poll and its annual All-America team.

For more information on the Outland Trophy, go to the official website,, or contact FWAA executive director Steve Richardson (972-713-6198 or

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder