Zalameda Named to USA Collegiate Summer Team

July 11, 2005

Courtesy of the Intercollegiate Tennis Association

KEY BISCAYNE, Fla. - Twelve of the nation's top men's and women's collegiate tennis players have been named to the 2005 USA Tennis Collegiate Summer Team, administered by the United States Tennis Association (USTA) and Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA).

The USA Tennis Collegiate Summer Team is an elite training program for the top American collegiate tennis players that began in 1996 and is funded by the USTA. It is designed to provide players with valuable exposure to the USTA Pro Circuit in a team-oriented environment during the summer months.

This year's women's team will consist of the following players:
Megan Bradley, Miami (Fla.) (Columbia, Mo.)
Audra Cohen, Miami (Fla.) (Plantation, Fla.)
Amber Liu, Stanford (La Mesa, Calif.)
Jennifer Magley, Florida (Bradenton, Fla.)
Shadisha Robinson, Georgia (South Ozone Park, N.Y.)
Riza Zalameda, UCLA (Los Angeles, Calif.)

The men's team features:
Jamil Al-Agba, Southern California (Camarillo, Calif.)
Jonathan Chu, Harvard (New York, N.Y.)
Ryler DeHeart, Illinois (Tampa, Fla.)
John Isner, Georgia (Greensboro, N.C.)
Sam Warburg, Stanford (Sacramento, Calif.)
Jesse Witten, Kentucky (Naples, Fla.)

USTA High Performance coaches Lori McNeil and David Roditi will be coaching the women's and men's teams, respectively.

The top four American players from the season-ending ITA singles rankings are automatic selections, while two players for each team are wild card selections by the USTA High Performance staff.

All 12 players on this year's teams earned ITA All-America honors in 2005. This year's women's team is highlighted by two players who account for the last three ITA National Players of the Year. Miami's Bradley was honored as the nation's best this past season and Stanford's Liu received the honor in 2003 and 2004. Cohen, who played at Northwestern last season, was named ITA National Rookie of the Year and reached the NCAA singles final. Florida's Magley and UCLA's Zalameda both reached the NCAA singles semifinals. Zalameda and Georgia's Robinson were the two wild card selections to the team.

The men's team is highlighted by Stanford's Warburg and Kentucky's Witten who finished at Nos. 2 and 3 in the final ITA singles rankings respectively. Witten, the SEC Player of the Year, became only the 11th men's player to earn ITA All-America honors in singles all four years of his career. Warburg, the 2004 NCAA doubles champion, was named Pac-10 Player of the Year for the second straight year. Georgia's Isner, the ITA National Player to Watch, captured the NCAA doubles title last month. Illinois' DeHeart captured the singles title at the ITA National Indoor Championships last fall. Last month Harvard's Chu became the first Crimson player since James Blake in 1999 to reach the NCAA singles semifinals. Chu and USC's Al-Agba were the two wild card selections to the team.

Kentucky's Witten is the first player to be named to this team four times. Other repeat members Stanford's Liu (third appearance) and Warburg (second).

Among the past players who have been named to the USA Tennis Collegiate Team include current professionals: Teryn Ashley, James Blake, Bob and Mike Bryan, Ansley Cargill, Jill Craybas, Amer Delic, Justin Gimelstob, Paul Goldstein, Laura Granville, K.J. Hippensteel, Marissa Irvin, Robert Kendrick, Kelly McCain, Jeff Morrison, Lilia Osterloh, Bobby Reynolds, Jeff Salzenstein and Brian Vahaly.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network