Peirsol, Cochrane Open 2005 Janet Evans Invitational With Wins

July 14, 2005

Irvine Novaquatics' Hayley Peirsol outlasted Trojan Kalyn Keller while Team British Columbia's Ryan Cochrane edged Tyler DeBerry to post wins in the timed finals of the 800 freestyle (LCM) to open the 12th annual Janet Evans Invitational at USC McDonald's Swim Stadium on Thursday (July 14).

Peirsol, a 2003 World Championship silver medalist headed to the 2005 World University Games next month in Turkey, won the women's race in 8:37.83 while Keller, a 2004 Olympic finalist and Trojan NCAA title winner, finished second in 8:43.91.

Cochrane, 16, outdueled DeBerry down the stretch, touching in 8:15.87, just ahead of DeBerry's 8:16.47.

The meet continues Friday through Sunday (July 15-17). Prelims begin each day at 9 a.m. while finals start at 5 p.m.

Results can be found at

Tickets are available at McDonald's Swim Stadium, $3 for prelims, $5 for finals.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder