ASU's Zach Miller Named to the 2005 John Mackey Award Watch List

Aug. 2, 2005

Manhasset, N.Y. - The Nassau County Sports Commission has announced that ASU student-athlete Zach Miller has been named to the John Mackey Award Watch List for the 2005 season. Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and announced in mid-December.

Zach Miller (Phoenix, Ariz.) was named a preseason first-team All-American by College Football News and Street & Smith's after shattering ASU's freshman receiving records last season. Starting all 12 games for the Sun Devils as a true freshman last year, he was named the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, only the second Sun Devil to earn that distinction, and earned second-team All-American honors from both Sporting News and He was recently ranked as the fourth-best tight end in the nation by Lindy's.

Miller caught 56 passes for 552 yards last season, breaking the previous freshman receiving records held by College Football Hall of Famer John Jefferson and senior Derek Hagan. He also broke former Sun Devil Todd Heap's record of 55 receptions by a tight end. Miller's six touchdown receptions last season also set the record for most touchdown receptions by a tight end in a season.

The Mackey Award, which has been awarded every year since 2000, has seen all four of its alumni move on to play professional football in the NFL, including Dallas Clark ('01) of the Indianapolis Colts, Daniel Graham ('02) of the New England Patriots, Kellen Winslow, Jr. ('03) of the Cleveland Browns and Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers. It is presented by the Nassau County Sports Commission, a non-profit organization created to enhance the quality of life for children through sports, as a tribute to Nassau County sports legend and native John Mackey.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, place in history as the first President of the NFLPA and his commitment to community. The award honors his leadership and career of excellence.

For additional information regarding the Mackey Award, please contact Bryan Revello at 516-365-9625 or

2005 John Mackey Award Watch List

PLAYER		YR	SCHOOLDominique Byrd	SR	USCDaniel Coats	JR	BYUVernon Davis	JR	MarylandTim Day		SR	OregonAnthony Fasano	SR	Notre DameErik Gill		SR	PittsburghRyan Hamby	JR	Ohio StateClark Harris	JR	RutgersMatt Herian	SR	NebraskaJoe Klopfenstein	SR	ColoradoMarcedes Lewis	JR	UCLATim Massaquoi	SR	MichiganZach Miller	SO	Arizona StateJoe Newton	JR	OregonBen Patrick	JR	DukeLeonard Pope	JR	GeorgiaMartin Rucker	SO	MissouriTony Scheffler	SR	MichiganDavid Thomas	SR	TexasTJ Williams	SR	NC State
Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder