Marcedes Lewis Named to Mackey Award Watch List

Aug. 2, 2005

Marcedes Lewis of UCLA joins Zach Miller of Arizona State, Joe Newton of Oregon State, Dominique Byrd of USC and Tim Day of Oregon as representatives of the Pac 10 conference on the 2005 JOHN MACKEY AWARD watch list as announced by the Nassau County Sports Commission. Given annually to the best collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the JOHN MACKEY AWARD Selection Committee and announced in mid-December.

Lewis was one of three finalists in 2004 and the only finalist returning in 2005.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, place in history as the first President of the NFLPA and his commitment to community. The award honors his leadership and career of excellence.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists four NFL players as alumni: Dallas Clark ('01) of the Indianapolis Colts, two-time Super Bowl Champion, Daniel Graham ('02) of the New England Patriots, Kellen Winslow, Jr. ('03) of the Cleveland Browns and Heath Miller ('04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers.



Marcedes Lewis SR UCLA

Dominique Byrd SR USC

Daniel Coats JR BYU

Vernon Davis JR Maryland

Tim Day SR Oregon

Anthony Fasano SR Notre Dame

Erik Gill SR Pittsburgh

Ryan Hamby JR Ohio State

Clark Harris JR Rutgers

Matt Herian SR Nebraska

Joe Klopfenstein SR Colorado

Tim Massaquoi SR Michigan

Zach Miller SO Arizona State

Joe Newton JR Oregon

Ben Patrick JR Duke

Leonard Pope JR Georgia

Martin Rucker SO Missouri

Tony Scheffler SR Michigan

David Thomas SR Texas

TJ Williams SR NC State

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder