Nate Pena Named PDL Goalkeeper Of The Year

Aug. 2, 2005

UCLA senior goalkepeer Nate Pena was awarded Premier Development League (PDL) Goalkeeper of the Year honors after posting a 0.47 goals against average for the Orange County Blue Star.

Pena also led the league in shutouts (seven) and wins (13) and led his team to a 15-1-0 season and the regular season championship.

Pena and the Blue Stars have advanced to the PDL semifinals, which will take place Saturday at 8:30 pm ET in Des Moines against the Des Moines Menace. Also on the squad are senior defender Jordan Harvey, who had an assist in the 3-0 win over the Cascade Surge in last weekend's Western Conference Final; junior defender Brandon Owens; sophomore forward Kamani Hill; senior midfielder Ryan Valdez and former Bruins Taylor Canel (03-04); Nick Theslof (1994-97), who is also the team's coach; and Brian Irvin (1993-96).

Also making the PDL playoffs were the Southern California Seahorses, which lost to the Surge in the Western Conference Semifinals. Members of the Seahorses included junior midfielder/defender Patrick Ianni; junior defender Kiel McClung; senior forward Evan Corey, who scored two goals in just four games played; and junior goalkeeper Eric Reed, who posted five shutouts.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder