Women's Cross Country Sets School Record

Oct. 15, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz.- ASU cross country had several runners compete in the Canyon West Cross Country Classic held at Kiwanis Park on Saturday. For the fifth straight meet, the Sun Devils had an individual win in the women's competition setting a school record for consecutive meets won by an ASU individual.

Senior Victoria Jackson (Lake Bluff, Ill.) won the race for ASU with a time of 17:54 and clocking her average mile at 5:46. Junior Jenna Wrieden (Glendale, Ariz.) finished in third place finished third in the collegiate results with a time of 18:59. Junior Jessie McLaughlin (Olympia, Wash.) finished seventh in the collegiate results clocking a time of 6:16. Also scoring in the meet for the ASU women and helping them to a team victory was sophomore Katie Murphy (Scottsdale, Ariz.), freshman Chelsea Caloia (Phoenix, Ariz.) and freshman Samantha Knobbe (Phoenix, Ariz.).

On the men's side junior Jeremy Cramer (Boise, Idaho) led the way for the Sun Devils finishing second in the collegiate results with a time of 25:37. Right behind Cramer was freshman David Mehlhorn (Tempe, Ariz.) clocking a time of 25:44. Finishing in fourth place in the collegiate results was freshman Jack Mann (Scottsdale, Ariz.) recording a time of 25:56. Other runners that scored in the event to help the Sun Devils to a team victory were freshman David Gott (Marion, Iowa), senior Griffin Lee (Shawnee, Kan.), freshman Kent Henry (Pleasant Hill, Calif.) and freshman Sandy Skouson (Mesa, Ariz.).

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder