Logan Tom, Kerri Walsh Voted To Women's Volleyball 25th Anniversary Team

Oct. 18, 2005

Indianapolis, In - Two of the best women's volleyball players in Stanford history, Logan Tom and Kerri Walsh, have been named to the six member NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball 25th Anniversary Team.

NCAA Division I women's volleyball began in 1981 and will be celebrating its 25th Anniversary at the 2005 championship. To commemorate this milestone a 25th Anniversary Team was named in a vote of the public.

Tom and Walsh join four other outstanding former collegiate stars on this prestigious team; Deitre Collins of Hawaii, Elaina Oden of Pacific, Danielle Scott of Long Beach State and UCLA's Natalie Williams. Dave Shoji was named head coach on the 25th Anniversary Team.

Tom was a four-time All-American at Stanford (1999-2002), one of only eight players in Stanford history to be accorded that honor. Tom was a two-time AVCA National College Player of the Year, and was also named MVP at the 2001 NCAA Tournament in helping lead Stanford to the national championship. During her four years on The Farm, Tom helped Stanford chalk up a 115-22 (.839) record, two Pac-10 titles (1999, 2001) and a national title (2001). Tom was named All Pac-10 four times (1999-2002) and voted Pac-10 Player of the Year in 2001 and 2002. Her named is included in six statistical categories in the Stanford record book, including career kills (#2, 1,939). Tom has been a member of the United States National team since 1998.

Walsh, a four-time All-American (1996-99), helped lead Stanford to two NCAA titles (1996, 1997), three trips to the NCAA Final four and four Pac-10 titles. Walsh was named the NCAA Tournament MVP in leading Stanford (31-2) to the 1996 NCAA title. During her junior and senior seasons, Walsh was named Pac-10 Player of the Year. Walsh was also an all-league selection four times. Walsh's name is etched in several categories in the Stanford record book, including career digs (#3, 1,285) and seventh in career kills (1,553). Her hitting percentage of .379 in 1998 still ranks fourth in the Cardinal record book.

Deitre Collins helped lead Hawaii to the NCAA titles in 1982 and 1983. A three-time AVCA All-American, Collins holds the record for solo blocks (15) in the 1982 NCAA Tournament. Elaina Oden was a three-time AVCA All-American from Pacific. Oden, the sister of former Stanford stars Bev and Kim Oden, helped lead Pacific to the NCAA titles in 1985 and 1986. Danielle Scott of Long Beach State was a three-time AVCA All-American, and helped lead the 49ers to the 1993 NCAA title. Scott is the all-time NCAA career hitting percentage leader (.421). UCLA's Natalie Williams helped the Bruins to the 1990 and 1991 NCAA championships. Williams was a four-time All-American, and a two-time National Player of the Year. Williams is the first woman to earn All-American honors in both basketball and volleyball in the same year.

Dave Shoji, in 1981, became the first full-time coach for a women's program at Hawaii. Shoji coached three NCAA title teams (1982, 1983, 1987).

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder