Spencer Havner Named Butkus Award Semifinalist

Oct. 20, 2005

The Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. (DACO), the organization which annually presents the prestigious Butkus Award® to the nation's best collegiate linebacker has announced the 10 semi-finalists for this year's award. The Butkus Award® and the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. are celebrating their 21st anniversary in 2005.

UCLA senior Spencer Havner is one of the 10 semifinalists. Havner, who leads the Bruins with 53 tackles, including nine tackles for loss, in six games, was also a semifinalist in 2004. He is the only player from the Pacific-10 Conference on the list.

The semi-finalist list will be cut down to three finalists which will be announced via a national teleconference with players, coaches, media members and Butkus Award® officials on Thursday, November 10. The winner will be announced Saturday, December 10, 2005 at the Butkus Award® Gala in Orlando, FL. The Butkus Award® will be presented to the winner by the award's namesake former University of Illinois and Chicago Bear NFL Hall of Fame member, Dick Butkus. The finalists, their coaches and families are invited to attend the Butkus Award® Gala festivities including a welcome reception, golf tournament and silent auction.

The independent Butkus Award® Selection Committee for the 2005 Butkus Award®, comprised of the nation's foremost national media members, is solely responsible for all voting in the selection process. Selection Committee members have been evaluating the candidates since the beginning of the season and will continue their review throughout the entire football season. Voting for the three Butkus Award® finalists and the Butkus Award® winner will be conducted by confidential ballots of the Butkus Award® Selection Committee.

2005 Butkus Award® Semi-Finalists

Chad Greenway, Iowa

Aaron Harris, Texas

Spencer Havner, UCLA

AJ Hawk. Ohio State

D'Qwell Jackson, Maryland

Tim McGarigle, Northwestern

AJ Nicholson, Florida State

Paul Posluszny, Penn State

DeMeco Ryans, Alabama

Ernie Sims, Florida State

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network