WSU Takes Top Two Spots in Opening Regatta

Oct. 22, 2005

SPOKANE, Wash. -- The Washington State University women's rowing team opened its fall season by taking the top two spots in the varsity eight competition Saturday, Oct. 22 against Gonzaga.

The WSU second varsity eight won their first race of the season, finishing just ahead of WSU's third varsity eight and 23 seconds in front of Gonzaga's varsity eight crew, which finished third. The leading Cougars finished the five kilometer race in 16:56, while the third varsity eight came in second, clocking in at 17:12.

For the second straight year, the Bulldog's novice eight (A) defeated the first year rowers from WSU. Gonzaga's premier novice boat finished with top novice time of 18:49, ten seconds better then the Cougars novice eight (A). WSU's novice eight (B) came in third place, at 20:01.

The Washington State men's club team also competed on the Spokane River against the Bulldogs. Gonzaga took the leading time for the men's race at 15:47, eight seconds ahead of WSU's men's varsity eight. Gonzaga's men's novice eight also bested the men of WSU, finishing over a minute ahead of the Cougars.

The Cougars return to the Palouse next weekend for the Head of the Snake Regatta, where they will again take on the Gonzaga Bulldogs. The races start at 10 a.m. on Saturday, Oct. 29 at Wawawai Landing.

Washington State v. Gonzaga
Spokane, Wash.
October 22, 2005

Varsity Eights1. WSU 2V8, 16:56; 2. WSU 3V8, 17:12; 3. GU V8, 17:19; 4. GU2V8, 17:50; 5. WSU 4V8, 17:54

Novice Eights1. GU N8 A, 18:49; 2. WSU N8 A, 18:59; 3. WSU N8 B, 20:01; 4. GU N8 B, 20:40; 5. GU N8 C, 22:06; 6. WSU N8 C, 20:56

Varsity Boat Lineups

Second Varsity Eight: Tara McTavish (coxswain), Sharon Finney (stroke), Catherine Watt, Lina Brazinskaite, Carey Homan, Casey Long, Jody Thomas, Robyn Stephenson and Becca Gibson

Third Varsity Eight: Vanessa Serratore (coxswain), Emily Collins (stroke), Michelle Morris, Amy Jo Hendershot, Suzanne Vogt, Lexie Conley, Jessica Bills, Heather Meyer and Fritha Strand-Davern

Fourth Varsity Eight: Kara Velikanje (coxswain), Annie Rauchenstein (stroke), Becca Gibson, Laura Griffin, Casey Long, Patricia Schlachter, Michelle Mindemann, Tamber Hilton, Haley Smith and Lauren Fellows
Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder