Harriers Head to Tucson for Pac-10 Championships

Oct. 24, 2005

Weekly Notes (pdf) | Statistics | 2005 Rosters | Schedule & Results

TEMPE, Ariz. - The championship portion of the 2005 cross country schedule is set to kick off this weekend for the Arizona State University cross country program heads to the Dell Urich Golf Course in Tucson for the 2005 Pac-10 Cross Country Championships this Saturday, Oct. 29. The men open the meet with an 8,000m race at 9:30 a.m. before the women close out the meet with a 6,000m race at 10:30 a.m.

According to the latest national rankings (released Oct. 17), the women rank fifth in the FinishLynx Top 30 while the men have dropped out of the MONDO Top 30 poll. In the Pac-10, Stanford leads the women's rankings at No. 2 while Oregon (No. 22) and Washington (No. 26) are the other ranked teams. On the men's side, the Cardinal also lead the way as they are ranked No. 4 with Arizona (No. 7) and Washington (No. 24) rounding out the nationally ranked teams.

Last year, California played host to the event at Golden Gate Park in San Francisco that saw the ASU men and women each record second-place finishes while Amy Hastings made Sun Devil history by becoming the first harrier in program history to win the women's individual race. Both Stanford's men and women finished ahead of the Sun Devil teams, winning their fifth and 10th conference crowns in a row, respectively.

Two other records were also established last year at the conference meet as both the men and women recorded record-low point totals while placing second in the meet. The women scored 47 points to surpass the previous low of 59, set at the 2002 meet. The men broke its Pac-10 meet mark of 75 points scored in the 2001 meet as it recorded 64 points a year ago. That point total was one off the overall conference record of 63 the 1968 team scored at the Western Athletic Conference meet when it placed second.

The Sun Devil men have competed in 35 conference meets (21 Pac-10 meets and 14 WAC meets) and the women in 26 meets (19 Pac-10, 1 Pac-West and 6 WCAA) with neither team winning a team title. In their competitions, the men have finished second overall in three meets while the women placed second five times, including the last three meets.

Amy Hastings made history last year at the Pac-10 Championships as she became the first Sun Devil harrier, male and female, to win the conference title as she finished first at the annual meet conducted at Golden Gate Park in San Francisco. Hastings' victory helped the women to second place in the team standings for the third year in a row. For her efforts, she also was selected as Pac-10 Athlete of the Year.

The Dell Urich Golf Course in Tucson, which is playing host to the 2005 Pac-10 Championships this weekend, has hosted the Sun Devils before. In the past two seasons, ASU has competed in the Dave Murray Invitational on the same course with the women winning the individual race each time. Last year, Amy Hastings took first place while Brooke Bennett captured gold at this year's running.

Six women and eight men return to the conference meet for the Sun Devils this season with both looking to replace some high placers. For the women, gone is Desiree Davila, who finished fifth a year ago while the men will be without the services of their top finisher of a year ago, Aaron Aguayo (third overall), who is out with an injury sustained during the track and field season last spring.

The women, who are searching for their first conference crown, return three Top 15 finishers in Amy Hastings (1st), Victoria Jackson (9th) and Anna Masinelli (13th) while all six placed in the Top 34 last year. Of the eight men returning, three Top 20 finishers are back, including Velibor Radejovic (10th), Ryan Warrenburg (14th) and Roger Cahill (19th) with two others, Casey Burchill and Kal Clark, both placing in the Top 40.

The Sun Devil women set four records this season and have atleast two more chances to add to that list. Here is what the women accomplished this year:
  • Brooke Bennett became just the third runner to win mulitple races in one season as she captured titles at both the Dave Murray Invitational and ASU Invitational, joining Amy Hastings (2003 and 2004) and Lynn Nelson (1983) as the only runners to do so.
  • Bennett joined Jenna Wrieden (George Kyte Invitational), Hastings (Roy Griak Invitational) and Victoria Jackson (Canyon West Classic) to set the mark for individual wins in a season with five, breaking the previous best of four by Nelson in 1983.
  • The wins by four different runners also is a record, bettering the mark of two.
  • Hastings' victory at the Roy Griak Invite was the fifth of her career, breaking a tie with Nelson at four.

With three team wins this season, the Sun Devil men established a program record, bettering the 1993 team that won twice: the Grand Canyon Invitational and the UNLV Invitational.

Individual women's races were not the only victories recorded by the Sun Devils this season as the women's team captured one title and the men took home three team trophies. The women captured the Roy Griak Invitational while the men were victorious at the George Kyte Invitational, the ASU Invitational and the Canyon West Classic.

TOP 10
In six meets this season, the women have placed 14 runners among the Top 10 individually while the men have nine with three finishes coming in 11th or 12th. The women were led by Brooke Bennett who won two meets and placed second in another and Jenna Wrieden with one win, third and eighth while the men received three Top 10 finishes from Jeremy Cramer, including second, fourth and eighth-place finishes.

Amy Hastings and Anna Masinelli both finished among the Top 10 in two prestigious races this year with Hasting taking first and sixth at the Roy Griak and NCAA Pre-Nationals, respectively, and Masinelli finishing fifth and 10th.

A pair of runners attained All-America honors last season at the NCAA Championships, held Nov. 22 in Terre Haute, Ind. Both Amy Hastings and Aaron Aguayo finished 22nd overall in their respective races to earn the national accolade while pacing their squads to ninth and eighth place team finishes, respectively, at the national meet. Hastings earned her second All-America honor in cross country in as many seasons while Aguayo captured his first.

Following a weekend off from competition, the Sun Devils will head to Palo Alto, Calif., for the 2005 NCAA West Region Championships on Nov. 12. The Top 2 teams from each regional meet will automatically advance to the NCAA Championships (Nov. 21) with 13 teams earning at-large selections as well.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network