Havner Named Lott Award Quarterfinalist

Oct. 26, 2005

Eight linebackers, three defensive backs and three defensive linemen have been named as quarter-finalists for The 2005 Lott Trophy, presented by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation of Newport Beach, Ca.

Five of the quarter-finalists are on undefeated teams - Safety Darnell Bing of USC, Defensive End Darryl Tapp of Virginia Tech, Linebacker DeMeco Ryans of Alabama, Defensive End Quentin Moses of Georgia and Linebacker Spencer Havner of UCLA.

The other linebackers are Chad Greenway and Abdul Hodge of Iowa, A.J. Hawk of Ohio State, Brandon Hoyte of Notre Dame, D?Qwell Jackson of Maryland and Moses Osemwegie of Vanderbilt. Defensive backs Darrell Brooks of Arizona and Antoine Huffman of Kentuckyare also on the list as are Defensive End Elvis Dumervil of Louisvilleand Defensive Tackle Brennan Schmidt of Virginia.

In its second year, The Lott Trophy honors the college football Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. The student-athlete is judged on both his on-field performance and his off-field performance. The Lott Trophy is the first sports award based on personal character and is appropriately named after the legendary defensive back, Ronnie Lott. Last year's winner was David Pollack, the All-American defensive end from Georgia.

Semi-finalists will be announced Nov. 11. Voting for the winner will be conducted by Ernst & Young with ballots being sent to college offensive and defensive coordinators, national media, The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation Board of Directors, a Board of Advisors made up of former NFL players and coaches along with the three finalists from last year - Pollack, Derrick Johnson of Texas and Jim Leonhard of Wisconsin. The winner will be announced on Dec. 11th at a gala black-tie Awards Banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach.

'We have seen these young men compete at the highest level and we are proud of what they achieve on the field as well as what they have done off the field,' said Lott, a member of both the Pro Football and College Hall of Fames.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder