Day One Results from Men's Tennis Thunderbird Tournament

Oct. 28, 2005

Tempe, Ariz - The Arizona State Men's Tennis Team kicked off their annual Thunderbird Tournament Friday afternoon at Tempe's Whiteman Tennis Center.

ASU is hosting five other teams this weekend as part of the tournament which include: the University of Arkansas, University of Auburn, Loyola Marymount University, Northern Arizona University and the Aggies of New Mexico State.

First up for the Devils in singles play was junior Jonathan Kinsella who took on Brian Grooms of Northern Arizona.

Kinsella was able to make quick work of Grooms taking the match in straight sets 6-0, 6-3.

Next up freshman T.J. Bellama played Nick Lane of Auburn, but Lane defeated Bellama in straight sets with a 6-1, 6-3 win.

Junior Chris Biro stepped up next for the Devils defeating Trent Hayward from Northern Arizona 6-3, 6-2.

Both Biro and Kinsella later went on to win their second round matches to advace to the Quarter Finals with Biro defeating his fellow teammate Nick Hegarty 6-1, 6-4 and Kinsella defeating LMU's Nico Terrien 6-3, 6-2.

In doubles the Devils were unable to get anything rolling as three ASU teams were taken down in the first round.

The Devil duo of Jonathan Kinsella and Ryan McBride gave New Mexico State's Stjepan Beg and Brice Magnanou a tough bout, but fell in a tough 9-7 match.

The Thunderbird Tournament is scheduled to continue on Saturday morning at 10 a.m. at Tempe's Whiteman Tennis Center, starting with doubles play.

Results for Day One - ASU Thunderbird Tournament

Singles - First Round:

Rohan Gajjar (Ark.) def. Brice Magnanou (NMSU) - 0-6, 6-2, 6-4

Nick Lane (Aub.) def. T.J. Bellama (ASU) - 6-1, 6-3

Jonathan Kinsella (ASU) def. Brian Grooms (NAU) - 6-0, 6-3

Nico Terrien (LMU) def. Mike Beatty (ASU) - 6-0, ret.

Matt Roberts (Ark.) def. Mike Wojnarowicz (LMU) - 6-4, 1-6, 6-3

Ryan McBride (ASU) def. Terrence Nugent (Aub.) - 6-3, 6-4

Nick Hegarty (ASU) def. Stjepan Beg (NMSU) - 6-4, 6-1

Chris Biro (ASU) def. Trent Hayward (NAU) - 6-3, 6-2


Second Round:

Rohan Gajjar (Ark.) def. Nick Lane (Aub.) - 6-3, 6-3

Jonathan Kinsella (ASU) def. Nico Terrien (LMU) - 6-3, 6-2

Matt Roberts (Ark.) def. Ryan McBride (ASU) - 6-4, 4-6, 6-4

Chris Biro (ASU) def. Nick Hegarty (ASU) - 6-1, 6-4


Doubles - First Round:

Gajjar/Roberts (Ark.) def. Biro/Hegarty (ASU) - 8-3

Terrien/Wojnarowicz (LMU) def. Beatty/Bellama (ASU) - 8-6

Beg/Magnanou (NMSU) def. Kinsella/McBride (ASU) - 9-7

Nugent/Lane (Aub.) def. Grooms/Hayward (NAU) - 8-3

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder