Dorrell, Drew and Havner Honored by Maxwell Club

Nov. 2, 2005

Maxwell Football Club President, Ron Jaworski, announced the 2005 Semifinalists for the 69th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, the 11th Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year, and the 17th George Munger Award for College Coach of the Year. The respective lists include a field of twelve candidates for each of these awards as selected by the Maxwell Football Club Advisory Committee.

Running back Maurice Drew is one of the 12 semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, linebacker Spencer Havner is one of 12 semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award and head coach Karl Dorrell is one of 12 semifinalists for the George Munger Award.

The announcement of the winners of the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be made during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN on Thursday December 8, 2005. Three finalists for each award will be in attendance for the ESPN broadcast. The Maxwell Football Club will announce the winner of the 17th George Munger Award via a press release in December. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club's Awards Dinner, to be held on Friday March 3, 2006 at the Harrah's Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Voting for all three of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Monday November 7th and close on Friday November 25th.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder