Four UW Crews Compete at Portland Loop Regatta

Nov. 4, 2005

PORTLAND, Ore. - The Washington rowing team will be represented by four crews Saturday morning when the 17th-annual Portland Loop Regatta takes place on the Willamette River's Lake Oswego-Oaks Park course.

Racing begins at 9 a.m. on the Portland section of the Willamette River. The a seven-kilometer course starts at Lake Oswego Pointe and finishes just north of the Sellwood Bridge at Oaks Park, by the Oregon Yacht Club.

The head races are a break from the straight, 2,000-meter courses customarily contested by collegians. Teams start from a single-file line at set intervals and the race is conducted in a time-trial format. Crews are forced to navigate around opposing crews in order to pass while following the contour of the river.

Several crews from throughout the Northwest are expected to row Saturday, including Division I competitors Washington State, Oregon State, Portland and Portland State.

The two featured races begin at 9 a.m. and 9:11 a.m. respectively. The Huskies have a pair of eights entered the men's Collegiate Eight event that opens the regatta at 9 a.m. Two UW crews will compete in the women's Collegiate Eight race at 9:11 a.m.

Last season Washington crews were victorious in all four events in which they entered. Leading the way were the varsity and junior varsity women's crews who completed the course over one minute ahead of the opposition. The varsity eight captured the women's Championship Eight title with a time of 22:13.95. Host Oregon State placed second in 23:25.17.

The Huskies' junior varsity boat registered a winning time of 22:17.90 in the women's Collegiate Eight event. Oregon State finished 1-minute, 22-seconds back in 23:29.63. Portland placed third and Portland State fourth.

The UW men's varsity won its Championship Eight competition, outracing second place Oregon State. UW finished in 19:59.42, half a minute faster than OSU's mark of 20:29.67.

Finally, the Husky men's defeated two Oregon State crews and one from Portland to claim the Collegiate Eight title. UW clocked a time of 20:03.54 and the Beavers were a distant second in 21:39.36.

The Portland Loop is the first race of the season for the UW rowers who conclude the fall racing session on Sunday, Nov. 13 with the Head of the Lake Regatta that begins at 8 a.m. in Seattle's Lake Union.

Portland Loop Regatta
Willamette River; Portland, Ore.
November 5, 2005


Men's Eight 'A'
cox -- Adrian Andrews (Sr./Tiburon, Calif./Redwood)
stroke -- Kiel Petersen (Sr./Poulsbo, Wash./Shawnigan Lake, B.C.)
7 -- Rob Gibson (So./Glenburnie, Ontario/K.C.)
6 -- Ante Kusurin (Sr./Zagreb, Croatia/Brezovacki)
5 -- Colin Phillips (Sr./Coronado, Calif./The Bishop's School)
4 -- Adam Van Winkle (Sr./Mukilteo, Wash./Kamiak)
3 -- Aljosa Corovic (Jr./Zemun, Serbia/Zemun)
2 -- Tyler Smith (Sr./Issaquah, Wash./Issaquah)
bow -- Craig Tyler (Sr./Camas, Wash./Camas)

Men's Eight 'B'
cox -- Mary Katherine Langlais (Jr./Torrance, Calif./Notre Dame Academy)
stroke -- Drew Fowler (So./Kent, Wash./Kentwood)
7 -- Dustin Kraus (Jr./Sacramento, Calif./Rio Americano)
6 -- Toby Dankbaar (So./Sydney, NSW/St. Joseph's)
5 -- Steve Full (So./Cumberland, Me./Tabor)
4 -- David Edward-Aron (Jr./San Anselmo, Calif./Francis Drake)
3 -- Derek DeVries (So./Granger, Wash./Sunnyside Christian)
2 -- Jon Engel (Jr./Everett, Wash./Cascade)
bow -- Joe DeVleming (Jr./Mercer Island, Wash./Mercer Island)

Women's Eight 'A'
cox -- Eva Anderson (Sr./Seattle, Wash./Shorecrest)
stroke -- Allison DePalma (Sr./San Jose, Calif./Notre Dame)
7 -- Cara Troelstra (Jr./Halifax, Nova Scotia/Halifax)
6 -- Kim Armstrong (So./Snohomish, Wash./Snohomish)
5 -- Sarah Hubbard (Jr./Adelaide, Australia/Pembroke)
4 -- Andrea Sooter (Jr./Bellevue, Wash./Bellevue Christian)
3 -- Megan Kalmoe (Sr./St. Croix Falls, Wis./St. Croix Falls)
2 -- Kara Farquharson (Jr./Mississauga, Ontario/Lorne Park)
bow -- Courtney Plitt (Jr./Mill Creek, Wash./Jackson)

Women's Eight 'B'
cox -- Alysha Koorji (So./Orinda, Calif./Miramonte)
stroke -- Olivia Morrow (Sr./San Diego, Calif./Scripps Ranch)
7 -- Marah Connole (Sr./Helena, Mont./Helena)
6 -- Liz Simenstad (Jr./Napa, Calif./Vintage)
5 -- Karen Magnuson (Sr./Wilmette Ill./New Trier)
4 -- Ashley Jones (So./Yakima, Wash./West Valley)
3 -- Jamie Unwin (So./Vancouver, B.C./Prince of Wales)
2 -- Taryn Langlois (So./Langley, Wash./South Whidbey)
bow -- Erin Lee (Sr./Kenmore, Wash./Inglemoor)

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder