Four Former Bruins Win MLS Cup With LA Galaxy

Nov. 13, 2005

Former UCLA stars Kevin Hartman, Cobi Jones, Pete Vagenas and Mike Enfield helped the Los Angeles Galaxy win the 2005 MLS Cup title on Sunday afternoon in Frisco, Texas with a 1-0 victory over the New England Revolution in extra time.

Guillermo Ramirez, who had an all-time MLS-worst shooting ratio with one goal in 62 shots during the regular season, scored the game-winning goal for the Galaxy in the 17th minute of extra time.

Hartman, Jones and team captain Vagenas started for the Galaxy. Jones nearly scored a goal in regulation when his hard shot blasted off the crossbar in the 83rd minute. Hartman, the second consecutive UCLA keeper to win the MLS title (Nick Rimando won with D.C. United last year), earned the shutout, making two saves on 11 New England shots. One of those saves came in the ninth minute of overtime, when he punched out a Jose Cancela shot that was headed for the top corner.

Also playing well, although in a losing effort, was Hartman's New England counterpart and former UCLA and Galaxy teammate Matt Reis, who made seven saves on 25 Galaxy shots. Reis had a back-to-back set of point-blank saves on Landon Donovan and Herculez Gomez in the 25th minute of extra time to keep the Revs in the game.

This is the second MLS title for Hartman, Jones and Vagenas, who were all part of the Galaxy's 2002 championship squad. The Galaxy also won the 2005 U.S. Open Cup, making the squad just the third ever to win both major U.S. titles in the same year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network