UCLA Seeded No. 5 In NCAA Men's Soccer Tournament

Nov. 14, 2005

Four-time NCAA champion UCLA earned a No. 5 seed in the NCAA Men's Soccer Tournament. The Bruins (12-4-3) will have a bye in the first round and then will host a second round game on Tuesday, Nov. 22 at Frank W. Marshall Field at Drake Stadium. The Bruins will play the winner of the first round match between at-large entry SMU (10-5-3) and Big West champion San Francisco (11-5-4). The second round game will be played at 7 pm and will be broadcast live on the internet at www.uclabruins.com.

The Bruins received an automatic bid into the tournament after capturing their fourth consecutive Pac-10 championship. UCLA has now advanced to the NCAA Championships in each of the last 23 years.

'We're very happy with a five seed, and I think we're where we deserve to be,' said UCLA head coach Jorge Salcedo. 'Any coach hopes to be a Top 8 seed because you're assured of two home games. With the third game, it doesn't matter where you're playing because it's for the College Cup, and you just hope to be playing in that game, no matter where it is.'

UCLA has not faced SMU or San Francisco this season. The last time the Bruins faced SMU was in the 2001 NCAA third round at Dallas. The Mustangs won that game, 1-0, on a penalty kick. UCLA is 5-3-1 all-time against SMU. The last time UCLA faced San Francisco was in 2002, and the teams tied 1-1 in Los Angeles. UCLA is 21-18-5 all-time against the Dons. SMU and San Francisco will play on Friday, Nov. 18 at 7:30 pm in Dallas, Texas.

If UCLA wins its second round game, it will host 12th-seeded Virginia Tech, UNC-Greensboro or James Madison on Saturday, Nov. 26 at 7 pm.

The Bruins are 5-2-3 this season against schools in the 48-team tournament field, with victories against No. 1 seed Maryland, No. 7 seed California, No. 11 seed Penn State, UC Santa Barbara and San Diego State.

The seeded teams in the tournament are: 1. Maryland (15-4-1), 2. New Mexico (15-1-2), 3. Indiana (13-2-6), 4. North Carolina (15-3-3), 5. UCLA (12-4-3), 6. Duke (12-4-3), 7. California (13-3-2), 8. Connecticut (15-3-1), 9. Akron (17-1-2), 10. Old Dominion (15-3-2), 11. Penn State (12-6-2), 12. Virginia Tech (10-5-4), 13. Virginia (12-4-2), 14. North Carolina State (11-6-1), 15. Cal State Northridge (14-3-3) and 16. Dartmouth (10-2-5).

To view the full bracket, click HERE.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder