Arianna Lambie Named USA Track & Field Athlete of the Week

Nov. 16, 2005

Indianapolis, In - Arianna Lambie has been named USA Track & Field's Athlete of the Week after her individual victory led the second-ranked Stanford women's team to its seventh consecutive NCAA Cross Country West Regional crown Saturday at Stanford University.

A sophomore, Lambie (Harvard, Mass.) finished the 6,000 meter course in a time of 19 minutes, 29.3 seconds, which was more than 19 seconds ahead of runner-up Amy Hastings of Arizona State University. The 2003 USA Junior 1,500 meter champion, Lambie helped the Cardinal to a berth at the 2005 NCAA Cross Country Championships on November 21 in Terre Haute, Ind. Earlier in the season, Lambie won the individual race in leading Stanford to its tenth consecutive Pac-10 title.

Now in its fifth year, USATF's Athlete of the Week program is designed to recognize outstanding performers at all levels of the sport. USATF names a new honoree each week and features the athlete on the USATF website. Selections are based on top performances and results from the previous week.

2005 USATF Athlete of the Week Winners: January 4, Amy Rudolph; January 11, Dathan Ritzenhein; January 18, Janine Davis; January 25, Wallace Spearmon Jr.; February 1, Erin Gilreath; February 8, LaShawn Merritt; February 15, LaShawn Merritt; February 22, Walter Davis; March 1, Angela Daigle; March 8, Gov. Mike Huckabee; March 15, Kerron Clement; March 22, Lauren Fleshman; March 29, Deena Kastor; April 5, Deena Kastor; April 12, Tianna Madison; April 19 Alan Culpepper; April 26, John Godina; May 3, Amy Rudolph; May 10, Galen Rupp; May 17, Erica McLain; May 24, John Godina; June 1, Walter Dix; June 8, Justin Gatlin; June 15, Darold Williamson; June 23, Willie Gault; June 28, Kerron Clement; July 6, Ebony Collins; July 12, Sanya Richards; July 19, Galen Rupp; July 28, Wallace Spearmon Jr.; August 2, Ryan Whiting; August 9; Adam Nelson, August 16; Justin Gatlin; August 23, Sanya Richards; August 30, Bernard Lagat; September 6, Abdi Abdirahman; September 13, Allyson Felix; September 20, Deena Kastor; September 27, Colleen De Reuck; October 4, Ryan Shay; October 11, Deena Kastor; October 17, Josh McDougal; October 25, Jarrod Shoemaker; November 1, Angela Homan; November 8, Meb Keflezighi; November 15, Arianna Lambie.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder