Pac-10 Names Soccer All-Academic Teams

Nov. 16, 2005

Walnut Creek, Calif. - The Stanford men's soccer team had 10 student-athletes named to the Pac-10 Men's Soccer All-Academic teams today - including three first-team selections. Junior Bret Shimizu, joined sophomores Scott Bolkan and Dan Shapiro as first-team picks.

Cardinals Michael Brown, Cooper McKee, Evan Morgan, Ryan Oblak and Galen Thompson were second-team selections while Kyle Hency and Luke Sager earned honorable mention picks.

The following is the 2005 Pacific-10 ConferenceMen's Soccer All-Academic teams, announced today byCommissioner Tom Hansen. To be eligible for selection to the academicteam, a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 overall grade-pointaverage and be either a starter or significant contributor.

First Team
Pieter Berger, CAL***
Scott Bolkan, STAN
Calen Carr, CAL*
Evan Corey, UCLA
Chris Eylander, WASH*
Brett Gardner, OSU
Ty Harden, WASH
Bryan Jordan, OSU*
Dan Shapiro, STAN
Bret Shimizu, STAN
Tyson Wahl, CAL

Second Team
Michael Brown, STAN
Andrew Felder, CAL*
Tally Hall, SDSU
Matthew Holtrust, CAL
Jeff Hoover, WASH
Cooper McKee, STAN
Lucas Mehring, UCLA
Evan Morgan, STAN
Ryan Oblak, STAN
Eric Reed, UCLA
Galen Thompson, STAN

* - two-time all-academic selection
** - three-time all-academic selection

HONORABLE MENTION: Alex Christensen, So., OSU; David Dally, So.,SDSU; Packy Deenihan, RS FR., OSU; Greg Folk, So., UCLA; Kyle Hency,RS So., STAN; Luke Sager, RS Fr., STAN; Mason Webb, So., OSU; MichaelZaher, So., UCLA.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder