ASU Harriers Land 17 Student-Athletes on Academic All-Pac-10 Lists

Nov. 17, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz. - Seventeen members of the Arizona State University cross country program were selected to various Academic All-Pac-10 teams, Commissioner Tom Hansen announced Thursday. The Sun Devil women placed nine of its runners on one of the three teams while the men placed eight on the conference lists. Each of the award recipients met the criteria of holding a 3.0 grade point average and have been enrolled at the University for at least one full academic year.

On the men's side, Kal Clark, Jeremy Cramer, Griffin Lee and Ryan Warrenburg each earned first-team accolades. Clark, Lee and Warrenburg each were selected to the first team for the second year in a row while Cramer made the top team for the third season in a row. Lee and Warrenburg also joined Cramer as three-time honorees after Warrenburg was selected to the second team in 2003 and Lee to the honorable mention squad in 2003.

Velibor Radejovic was the lone Sun Devil on the second team as he was one of four student-athletes from ASU to attain their first academic award from the conference. He was joined by first-time selections Eric Dall, Joey Heller and David Mehlhorn, all of who were selected to the honorable mention team.

Four women made their debut on the academic lists, including Rachel Ellison, who was selected to the first team. She was joined by Brooke Bennett and Corey Randall, both of who earned their second career honor after placing on the second team last year. Another first-time honoree is Victoria Jackson, who was selected to the second team while working on her post-graduate doctoral degree.

Five Sun Devils earned honorable mention selections with three of the women making a repeat showing on the team. Jenna Wrieden was also selected to the honorable mention squad in 2003 while Cassie Rios and Jessie McLaughlin were selected to the 2004 team. First-time honorees Jenna Kingma and Whitney Hardt also earned honorable mention selections.

The No. 5 women and No. 21 men are set to compete in the 2005 NCAA Cross Country Championships that will be contested Monday, Nov. 21, at the Wabash Valley Center in Terre Haute, Ind.

2005 Academic All-Pac-10 Selections
Women (9)

First Team - Brooke Bennett, Rachel Ellison, Corey Randall
Second Team - Victoria Jackson
Honorable Mention - Whitney Hardt, Jenna Kingma, Jessie McLaughlin, Cassie Rios, Jenna Wrieden

Men (8)
First Team - Kal Clark, Jeremy Cramer, Griffin Lee, Ryan Warrenburg
Second Team - Velibor Radejovic
Honorable Mention - Eric Dall, Joey Heller, David Mehlhorn

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder