ASU Places 10 Student-Athletes on All-Pac-10 Academic Football Team

Nov. 18, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz. - Arizona State University offensive lineman Grayling Love heads a list of seven Sun Devils selected to the Pacific-10 All-Academic Footall Team, along with three honorable mention selections. Love is a two-time All-Academic First-Teamer, having earned the honor last season.

In addition to Love, wide receiver Moey Mutz, snapper Jason Burke, and kicker Jesse Ainsworth all earned First-Team honors. Quarterback Chad Christensen, tight end Zach Miller and offensive lineman Andrew Carnahan earned second team accolades, while h-back Lee Burghgraef, offensive lineman Brandon Rodd and punter Chris MacDonald earned honorable mention.

A student-athlete must have a minimum 3.0 grade-point average and be either a starter or significant substitute to be eligible.

Love (Sacramento, Calif.) was named a finalist for the Draddy Trophy, known as the Academic Heisman, to be awarded in December. He also received a postgraduate scholarship award from the National Football Foundation and the College Football Hall of Fame earlier this year.

MacDonald (Mesa, Ariz.) earned First-Team honors last season. Ainsworth (Thousand Oaks, Calif.) and Burke (Glendale, Ariz.) both earned Second-Team selections in 2004. Carnahan (Hereford, Texas), Christensen (Scottsdale, Ariz.) and Rodd (Aiea, Hawaii) were Honorable Mention choices a year ago.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder