Nine Bruins Selected To All-Pac-10 Men's Soccer Team

Nov. 18, 2005

Walnut Creek, Calif. - Nine members of UCLA's Pac-10 Championship squad were selected to the 2005 All-Pac-10 Men's Soccer team. Four players were named to both the first and second teams, with one other earning honorable mention acclaim. In addition, midfielder Sal Zizzo was named the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year.

Zizzo (San Diego, Calif./Patrick Henry HS) helped UCLA clinch its fourth-consecutive Pac-10 title with a league record of 7-1-2, 12-4-3 overall. He made significant contributions in his first campaign for the Bruins, playing in all 19 games, starting in 15. Zizzo scored a goal and two assists in his first collegiate start in UCLA's 4-0 upset victory over then-No. 2 Maryland. He was named Pac-10 Player of the Week on Sept. 6 for his effort in the win over the Terrapins and was also named to the Soccer America Team of the Week for Sept. 7. Leading the Pac-10 freshman class, Zizzo contributed one goal, five assists, and seven points this season. Before joining the Bruins, he was a member of the U.S. Under-18 National team that played in the Lisbon International Tournament and the Milk Cup in Northern Ireland. He received Parade and NSCAA/adidas Youth All-American honors in 2005 and was a member of the 2003 National Champion ODP Cal South team. Zizzo is the third UCLA player to earn Freshman of the Year honors in the conference's six-year history, joining Alex Yi (2000) and Chad Barrett (2003).

Earning first-team All-Pac-10 acclaim were sophomore forward Kamani Hill (Berkeley, Calif./Berkeley HS), junior midfielder Patrick Ianni (Lodi, Calif./Lodi HS), junior goalkeeper Eric Reed (Mission Viejo, Calif./Laguna Hills HS) and sophomore defender Marvell Wynne (Poway, Calif./Poway HS). Hill, who ranked amongst the Pac-10 leaders in scoring with 22 points, earned his first first-team All-Pac-10 honor. He was an honorable mention selection as a freshman a year ago. Ianni, last year's Pac-10 Co-Player of the Year, received first-team acclaim for the second consecutive year. Reed, who was an honorable mention selection in 2004, was placed on the first team in 2005. He allowed just two goals in Pac-10 play this season, posting a 0.19 GAA in conference games. Wynne, who is a semifinalist for the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy along with Ianni, is a first-time honoree on the All-Pac-10 team.

Receiving second-team honors were senior midfielder Jonathan Bornstein (Los Alamitos, Calif./Los Alamitos HS), senior defender Jordan Harvey (Mission Viejo, Calif./Capistrano Valley HS), junior defender Brandon Owens (Murrieta, Calif./Edison Academic Center) and Zizzo. Bornstein and Zizzo are first-time honorees, while Harvey and Owens both have been selected three times. Harvey earned honorable mention acclaim as a freshman and junior. Owens was a first-team honoree as a freshman and a second-team selection as a sophomore. Freshman defender Brad Rusin (Holmes Beach, Fla./St. Stephen's Prep) received honorable mention acclaim.

UCLA tied with Cal for most players on the all-conference team, but the Bruins had the most first and second-team players with eight.

Cal senior forward Calen Carr was selected the Player of the Year, and Golden Bears head coach Kevin Grimes earned Coach of the Year honors.

2005 Pac-10 First Team All-Conference
Calen Carr** F Sr. CAL
Robert Findley** F Jr. OSU
Tally Hall GK Jr. SDSU
Ty Harden** D Jr. WASH
Kamani Hill * F So. UCLA
Patrick Ianni * MF Jr. UCLA
Andrew Jacobson MF So. CAL
Ryan Johnson** F/MF Sr. OSU
Eric Reed * GK Jr. UCLA
Tyson Wahl** D Sr. CAL
Marvell Wynne D So. UCLA

2005 Pac-10 Second Team All-Conference
Ely Allen* F So. WASH
Jonathan Bornstein F Sr. UCLA
Mike Chabala* MF Sr. WASH
Kraig Chiles MF So. SDSU
Matt Couch D Sr. SDSU
Jordan Harvey ** D Sr. UCLA
Eric Kronberg* GK Sr. CAL
Cooper McKee* MF Sr. STAN
Brandon Owens ** D Jr. UCLA
Steven Purdy* D/MF Jr. CAL
Sal Zizzo MF/F Fr. UCLA

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree
**three-time All-Pac-10 honoree

2005 Pac-10 Honorable Mention All-Conference
Alex Asai (Sr., D, OSU); Pieter Berger (Sr., F, CAL); Scott Bolkan (So., D, STAN); Michael Brown (Jr., MF, STAN); Heath Creager (Sr., F, SDSU); Evan Cummings (Sr., MF, WASH); Eric Ebert (Jr., MF, CAL); Lucas Egenwall (So., MF, OSU); Chris Eylander (Sr., GK, WASH); Bret Gardner (So., D/MF, OSU); Nick Hatzke (Sr., MF, CAL); Brett Hite (So., F, WASH); Jeff Hoover (Sr., D/MF, WASH); Andrew Kartunen (Jr., GK, STAN); Daniel Leach (Fr., D, OSU); T.J. Novak (Fr., MF/F, STAN); Brad Rusin (Fr., D, UCLA); Marcus Ryan (So., MF, STAN); Eric Santiago (Sr., D, SDSU); Luke Sassano (So., MF/F, CAL); Dan Shapiro (So., F, STAN); Leo Totev (Sr., MF, WASH).

Pac-10 Player of the Year: Calen Carr, Cal
Pac-10 Freshman of the Year: Sal Zizzo, UCLA
Pac-10 Coach of the Year: Kevin Grimes, Cal

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network