UW Men Land Eight On All-Pac-10 Team

Nov. 18, 2005

WALNUT CREEK,CALIF. - Led by first-team selection Ty Harden and second-team honorees Mike Chabala and Ely Allen, Washington men's soccer landed eight players on the 2005 All-Pac-10 Team, the conference office announced Friday.

Harden, Chabala and Allen were joined five Huskies named to the honorable mention team including Evan Cummings, Chris Eylander, Brett Hite, Jeff Hoover and Leo Totev.

Harden, a junior defender, earned his third-straight nod to the all-conference team. The first-team honor is his first after a pair of second-team selections in his sophomore and freshman campaigns. Harden led the Husky defense to eight shutouts in 2005.

Senior midfielder Chabala was selected to the second-team for the second-consecutive season, after earning honorable mention honors in 2003. Chabala tallied two goals and a team-high four assists in his final season in purple and gold. Allen, a sophomore forward, was also a member of last year's honorable mention team. Allen was the Huskies' leader in goals (four) and points (11) this year.

Senior goalkeeper Eylander was an honorable mention pick after earning first-team honors last year. Eylander tallied 70 saves and seven shutouts to go along with a 0.97 goals against average in 2005.

Senior midfielders Hoover and Totev received the second honorable mention nods of their careers, while Cummings and Hite were named to the All-Pac-10 team for the first time.

All four Huskies got into the scoring act this year. Totev finished the season second on the team with nine points on three goals and three assists. Cummings put up his biggest career numbers as a senior with one goal and three assists. Hite tallied a goal and two assists, while Hoover also contributed a goal.

California's Calen Carr was named Pac-10 Player of the Year, UCLA's Sal Zizzo was selected Freshman of the Year and California's Kevin Grimes was voted Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

Washington finished the season 10-7-2 overall and fifth in the conference with a 3-5-2 Pac-10 record.



Name Pos. Yr. School
Calen Carr** F Sr. CAL
Robert Findley** F Jr. . OSU
Tally Hall GK Jr. . SDSU
Ty Harden** D Jr. . WASH
Kamani Hill* F So. . UCLA
Patrick Ianni** MF Jr. . UCLA
Andrew Jacobson MF So. . CAL
Ryan Johnson** F/MF Sr. . OSU
Eric Reed* GK Jr. . UCLA
Tyson Wahl** D Sr. . CAL
Marvell Wynne D So. . UCLA


Name Pos. Yr. School
Ely Allen* F So. . WASH
Jonathan Bornstein F Sr. . UCLA
Mike Chabala* MF Sr. . WASH
Kraig Chiles MF So. . SDSU
Matt Couch D Sr. . SDSU
Jordan Harvey* D Sr. . UCLA
Eric Kronberg* GK Sr. . CAL
Cooper McKee* MF Sr. . STAN
Brandon Owens* D Jr. . UCLA
Steven Purdy* D/MF Jr. . CAL
Sal Zizzo MF/F Fr. . UCLA

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree**three-time All-Pac-10 honoree

HONORABLE MENTION (received votes):
Alex Asai (Sr., D, OSU); Pieter Berger (Sr., F, CAL); Scott Bolkan (So., D, STAN); Michael Brown (Jr., MF, STAN); Heath Creager (Sr., F, SDSU); Evan Cummings (Sr., MF, WASH); Eric Ebert (Jr., MF, CAL); Lucas Egenwall (So., MF, OSU); Chris Eylander (Sr., GK, WASH); Bret Gardner (So., D/MF, OSU); Nick Hatzke (Sr., MF, CAL); Brett Hite (So., F, WASH); Jeff Hoover (Sr., D/MF, WASH); Andrew Kartunen (Jr., GK, STAN); Daniel Leach (Fr., D, OSU); T.J. Novak (Fr., MF/F, STAN); Brad Rusin (Fr., D, UCLA); Marcus Ryan (So., MF, STAN); Eric Santiago (Sr., D, SDSU); Luke Sassano (So., MF/F, CAL); Dan Shapiro (So., F, STAN); Leo Totev (Sr., MF, WASH).


Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder