Lobendahn Named Flaherty Winner At UW Awards Banquet

Nov. 21, 2005

SEATTLE - Husky senior linebacker Joe Lobendahn took top honors at the Washington football team's annual awards banquet when he was named the winner of the Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational Award. The annual banquet was held Monday evening at the Westin Hotel in downtown Seattle.

Lobendahn also won the team's MVP Defense award for the second straight season. The Honolulu native compiled 76 tackles over nine games before suffering a knee injury in the Oregon State game, which kept him from playing against Arizona and Washington State. The Flaherty Award, named after its first winner in 1908, is Washington's oldest and most prestigious individual award..

Senior running back Kenny James, the Huskies' leading rusher with 495 yards, was named the offensive MVP. Sims, who spent time at both fullback and tailback, started the season's final four games and provided one of the season's top individual performances when he rushed for 200 yards in the UW win at Arizona.

Washington's MVP awards are voted on by members of the team.

Lobendahn and Sims were also honored as two of the team's four captains, along with fellow seniors Brad Vanneman and Evan Benjamin.

Benjamin also won the Sports Radio 950 KRJ Most Outstanding Player Award for the defensive while junior quarterback Isaiah Stanback took home that trophy for the offense. Senior placekicker Evan Knudson won the Special Teams Most Outstanding Player Award.

Senior offensive guard Tusi Sa'au, sophomore defensive end Greyson Gunheim and sophomore defensive tackle Wilson Afoa took home awards for their play on the lines. Afoa was the winner of the L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year Award while Sa'au and Gunheim were named the the John P. Angel Outstanding Offensive and Defensive Lineman, respectively. Junior defensive end Donny Mateaki was presented with the Earle Glant Tough Husky Award while junior safety C.J. Wallace won the Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award.

KING-TV's Most Improved Awards were presented to junior guard Stanley Daniels on offense while sophomore cornerback Roy Lewis took the Most Improved honor on defense. The Travis Spring Outstanding Freshmen Awards winners tight end Johnie Kirton on offense and linebacker Chris Stevens on defense. Husky Fever 12th Man Awards were presented to senior offensive tackle Tui Alailefaleula on offense and junior linebacker Tahj Bomar on defense.

Walkon senior linebacker Brian Tawney picked up the Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award, presented to the student-athlete who excels on the field and volunteers extensively in the community. Sims won the Academic Excellence Award while senior fullback Ty Eriks won the 101 Club Academic Achievement Award for the second straight season

The Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad Player of the Year went to freshman tailback J.R. Hasty while freshman defensive lineman Daniel Te'o-Nesheim was announced as the Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad Player of the Year. The Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad Players of the Year Award went to junior Alex Mercier.

The Kurt Gegner Memorial Award was presented to Brian Sahalov, a student assistant on the Husky training staff, and to student equipment managers Jeff Broadwell and Chad Guptill.

2005 Washington Football Awards

Guy Flaherty Most Inspirational
Joe Lobendahn

Team MVP Award
James Sims (Offense)
Joe Lobendahn (Defense)

Sports Radio 950 KJR Players of the Year
Isaiah Stanback (Offense)
Evan Benjamin (Defense)
Evan Knudson(Special Teams)

KING-TV Most Improved Player
Stanley Daniels (Offense)
Roy Lewis (Defense)

John P. Angel Lineman of the Year
Tusi Sa'au (Offense)
Greyson Gunheim (Defense)

L. Wait Rising Lineman of the Year
Wilson Afoa

101 Club Academic Award
Ty Eriks

Earle T. Glant Tough Husky
Donny Mateaki

Chuck Niemi Big Hit Award
C.J. Wallace

Tyee Sports Council Community Service Award
Brian Tawney

Bob Jarvis Offensive Scout Squad MVP
J.R. Hasty

Mark Drennan Defensive Scout Squad MVP
Daniel Te'o-Nesheim

Brian Stapp Special Teams Scout Squad MVP
Alex Mercier

Travis Spring Most Outstanding Freshman
Johnie Kirton (Offense)
Chris Stevens (Defense)

Husky Fever 12th Man Award
Tui Alailefaleula (Offense)
Tahj Bomar (Defense)

Academic Excellence Award
James Sims

Captains Award
Evan Benjamin, Joe Lobendahn, James Sims, Brad Vanneman

Kurt P. Gegner Memorial Award
Jeff Broadwell (Equipment Room Staff)
Chad Guptill (Equipment Room Staff)
Brian Sahalov (Athletic Training Staff)

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder