Leinart, Bush, Jarrett Named Semifinalists For National Awards

Nov. 23, 2005

USC quarterback Matt Leinart today (Nov. 23) was named a finalist for the Davey O'Brien and Maxwell Awards, while tailback Reggie Bush was picked a finalist for the Doak Walker and Maxwell Awards and wide receiver Dwayne Jarrett was chosen a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award.

Leinart, who won the 2004 Heisman Trophy, joins Vince Young of Texas and Brady Quinn of Notre Dame in the race for the Davey O'Brien Award, which is presented to the nation's top quarterback. He and Bush, along with Young, are up for the Maxwell Award, given to the nation's top player.

Bush, a leading contender for the 2005 Heisman, joins Washington State's Jerome Harrison and Memphis' DeAngelo Williams in the hunt for the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's top running back.

Jarrett is up for the Biletnikoff Award, for the nation's top wide receiver, along with Oregon State's Mike Hass and Notre Dame's Jeff Samardzija.

The winners of these awards will be announced live at 4 p.m. PT on Dec. 8 on ESPN's College Football Awards show in Orlando, Fla.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder