Bush Named Pac-10 Offensive Player Of The Year, Carroll Is Coach Of The Year

Nov. 28, 2005

Tailback Reggie Bush was named the 2005 Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year and was among nine Trojans--including six on offense--to make the All-Pac-10 first team.

Head coach Pete Carroll was named the Pac-10 Co-Coach of the Year. It was Carroll's second such honor in his five years at USC.

In all, 21 Trojans made All-Pac-10 first team, second team or honorable mention.

It was the second consecutive Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year honor for Bush, a leading candidate for the 2005 Heisman Trophy. Last year, he shared the honor with current teammate Matt Leinart, the 2004 Heisman-winning quarterback. Bush becomes just the fifth player to win the offensive award in back-to-back seasons, joining USC's Charles White (1978-79), Stanford's John Elway (1980-82), Washington State's Rueben Mayes (1984-85) and Leinart (2003-04). Bush is the first non-quarterback in 20 years to win it consecutively.

It's also the fourth year in a row that a Trojan has been the Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year. Quarterback Carson Palmer started the streak in 2002, the year he won the Heisman.

Leinart made the All-Pac-10 first team for his third straight year, just the second quarterback to ever do so (along with UCLA's Gary Beban, 1965-67).

Bush, who was the only player to be a unanimous first team pick this year, and Leinart were joined on the first team by wide receiver Dwayne Jarrett and three offensive linemen, guard Taitusi Lutui, tackle Sam Baker and center Ryan Kalil.

On defense, safety Darnell Bing and ends Lawrence Jackson and Frostee Rucker were first team selections.

USC's second team All-Pac-10 picks were tailback LenDale White, offensive guard Fred Matua and safety Scott Ware. Bush also made the second team as a punt returner.

Nine other Trojans were recognized as honorable mention All-Pac-10ers: placekicker Mario Danelo, defensive tackles Sedrick Ellis and LaJuan Ramsey, offensive tackle Winston Justice, fullback David Kirtman, linebackers Oscar Lua and Keith Rivers, wide receiver Steve Smith and cornerback Justin Wyatt.

Carroll shared the coaching honor with UCLA's Karl Dorrell.

Also honored by the Pac-10 were Oregon defensive tackle Haloti Ngata and Arizona State middle linebacker Dale Robinson as the Co-Defensive Players of the Year, and Oregon State offensive guard Jeremy Perry and Arizona wide receiver Michael Thomas as the Co-Freshmen of the Year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder