Grayling Love Named Finalist For ARA Sportsmanship

Nov. 30, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Arizona State offensive lineman Grayling Love has been named a finalist for the inaugural ARA Sportsmanship Award (Awards and Recognition Association). This is the third national award the Sacramento, Calif. native has been named a finalist for.

To qualify for the ARA Sportsmanship award, an athlete must be a starting player or significant contributor on his team, be a senior in good academic standing, demonstrate great respect for competitors, school, teammates and coaches, show an ability to accept victory and defeat graciously, convey a high degree of humility and integrity and demonstrate commitment in the classroom and to the community. Former Brigham Young University Head Football Coach LaVell Edwards chairs the selection committee. The 2005 ARA Sportsmanship Award recipient will be announced in mid-December.

Love, who earned his degree in May of 2005, was named Second-Team All-Pacific-10 Conference earlier this week to go along with his second consecutive Pac-10 All-Academic First-Team honor. He is a finalist for the Draddy Trophy, known as the Academic Heisman, and the Wuerffel Trophy, and was named a National Scholar Athlete Award winner in October, earning an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship.

The finalists for the 2005 ARA Sportsmanship Award are:
James Anderson, Virginia Tech
Antoine Huffman, Kentucky
Matt Leinart, USC
Grayling Love, Arizona State
Ryan Neill, Rutgers Ben Obomanu, Auburn
Devarick Scandrett, Middle Tennessee State
Scott Smith, California
DeAngelo Williams, Memphis

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder