Jim Svoboda Named Broyles Award Finalist

Nov. 30, 2005

Three of the nation's top offensive minds and three of the top defensive minds, all of whom are bowl bound and some of whom still play a role in the national title scene, make up the finalists for the prestigious Broyles Award, which for the 10th year will be presented to the nation's top assistant football coach.

The 2005 finalists are (in alphabetical order): Oregon offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Gary Crowton; Texas offensive coordinator and quarterbacks coach Greg Davis; Virginia Tech defensive coordinator, inside linebackers coach and special teams coach Bud Foster; Alabama defensive coordinator, assistant head coach and linebackers coach Joe Kines; Iowa defensive coordinator and linebackers coach Norm Parker; and UCLA quarterbacks coach Jim Svoboda were all named finalists on Wednesday for the prominent award.

The winner of the 2005 Broyles Award, presented by the Downtown Rotary Club, will be announced on Tuesday, January 17, at the Doubletree Hotel in Little Rock.

Svoboda is in his second season as UCLA's quarterbacks coach. Senior quarterback Drew Olson has had a fabulous year for the 9-1 Bruins. Olson, a second-team All-Pac-10 selection, leads the nation and the Pac-10 in passing efficiency (172.5) and was a finalist for the Unitas Award, given to the nation's top senior quarterback and a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien Award, given to the nation's top quarterback.

Olson shattered the school record for touchdown passes with 30 this season. He broke the mark of 25 set by Cade McNown in 1998. Olson leads the nation in touchdown passes per game (3.0) and is tied for second overall with 30 touchdown passes. He also leads the nation in interception percentage (0.93) and points responsible for (18.60). Olson's efficiency rating of 301.26 for the Arizona State game was the second-highest in NCAA Division I-A history for quarterbacks between 25 and 49 pass attempts.

About the Broyles Award

The Broyles Award is named in honor of longtime University of Arkansas Athletic Director Frank Broyles, who developed a reputation during a stellar coaching career of producing top-notch assistants. Former Broyles assistant coaches have combined to win almost 15 percent of all Super Bowl titles, four national collegiate championships, more than 40 conference titles and more than 2,000 games. More than 25 Broyles assistants went on to become head coaches at the college or professional level, including Doug Dickey, Joe Gibbs, Hayden Frye, Jimmy Johnson, Johnny Majors, Jackie Sherrill and Barry Switzer.

Each NCAA Division I head coach may nominate one of his assistants for the Broyles Award. Every assistant that is nominated, but not selected as a finalist, receives a personalized wall plaque recognizing his efforts. The finalists are chosen by an eight-man panel that may be the most prestigious of any awards panel, representing four national championships, more than 1,300 victories, 59 conference titles, 112 bowl game appearances and nine national head coach of the year honors. The panelists are:

Arkansas Athletic Director and former Coach Frank Broyles

• Former Michigan Coach Bo Schembechler

• Former Georgia Coach Vince Dooley

• Former Washington Coach Don James

• Former Syracuse Coach Dick MacPherson

• Former Baylor Coach Grant Teaff

• Former Brigham Young Coach LaVell Edwards

• Former Iowa Coach Hayden Fry

The Broyles Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association. The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of major collegiate football awards. The purpose of the NCFAA is to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of college football's various awards. The NCFAA also encourages professionalism and the highest standards possible for the administration of college football awards and the selection of their winners.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder