Bush, Leinart, Jarrett and Lutui Named To Football Coaches All-American First Team USC now has had 139 first team selections.

Dec. 1, 2005

Tailback Reggie Bush, quarterback Matt Leinart, wide receiver DwayneJarrett and offensive guard Taitusi Lutui were named to the FootballCoaches All-American first team.

Trojans have now made All-American first teams 139 times in history.

It's the first year since 1931 (and only the second time ever) thatUSC has had four offensive players named to an All-American first team.

Leinart becomes just the second USC player ever to be a three-timeAll-American first teamer, joining linebacker Richard Wood (1972-74).

Bush repeats as an All-American, while it's the first such honor forJarrett and Lutui.

Leinart won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, as the nation's topsenior quarterback. Some of these Trojans are in the running formajor awards. Besides Leinart and Bush up for the Heisman, both arefinalists for the Maxwell Award, Walter Camp Award and Cingular-ABCSports All-America Player of the Year Award (as the nation's topplayer). Bush is a finalist for the Doak Walker Award, Leinart is afinalist for the Davey O'Brien Award, and Jarrett is a finalist forthe Biletnikoff Award.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder