Cross Country Announces Team Awards at Annual Banquet

Dec. 1, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz. - Following one of the more successful campaigns in program history, the Arizona State University cross country program gathered at Old Main on campus to celebrate with its annual award banquet held Wednesday night. The 2005 season saw the women finish second in the conference and region before placing fourth at the NCAA Championships to secure the first trophy finish in program history. The men, after finishing fifth at the Pac-10 meet, rebounded nicely to finish third in the region before taking 17th in the national meet.

Eight awards were handed out on the evening with six being decided by a vote of the student-athletes on the team and the other two in a vote of the coaching staff. On the men's side, the team selected Ryan Warrenburg as its Most Valuable Runner, David Mehlhorn as its Newcomer of the Year and Joey Heller as the Most Improved Runner. The women's votes named Amy Hastings as the Most Valuable Runner, Ali Kielty as the Newcomer of the Year and Jenna Kingma as the Most Improved Runner.

In a vote by the coaching staff, which is comprised of Head Coach Louie Quintana and graduate assistants Jeremy Rasmussen and Rhonda Riley, the collective senior classes for both the men and the women were selected to receive the Coaches' Award. The seniors include Casey Burchill, Roger Cahill, J.J. Duke, Griffin Lee, Velibor Radejovic and Warrenburg for the men while the women's seniors include Rachel Ellison, Hastings, Victoria Jackson and Anna Masinelli.

The 2005 season for the women featured great success as Brooke Bennett (two), Jenna Wrieden (one) and Hastings (one) each won individual races for the Sun Devils. The women competed strong in the post season, opening the championship portion of the year with a second-place showing at the conference meet, finishing a mere six points behind Stanford, the eventual national champions.

At the regional race, the women again finished runner-up behind Stanford while six Sun Devils earned All-West Region honors by finishing in the Top 25 of the meet. Those honorees included Hastings (second), Jackson (seventh), Masinelli (10th), Kingma (13th), Ellison (16th) and Cassie Rios (22nd). The women then traveled to the NCAA Championships where they finished fourth overall as Hastings finished 13th overall to become the program's first three-time cross country All-American.

The men's 2005 season saw many highs and lows throughout, but the young squad was able to persevere and finish strong once again. Without two of its top runners, Aaron Aguayo (injury) and Kyle Alcorn (transfer), the men found themselves in an unfamiliar position as they placed fifth at the Pac-10 Championships, only their second non-Top 4 finish since 1997. The team rebounded nicely to finish third at the regional meet where Burchill finished third and Warrenburg seventh to earn all-region accolades and eventually a place in the national meet. In the national meet, the men once again shined as they came together to finish 17th overall in just the fourth appearance in the meet in the history of the program.

2005 Arizona State Cross Country Awards
Most Valuable Runner
- Ryan Warrenburg (men) and Amy Hastings (women)
Newcomer of the Year - David Mehlhorn (men) and Ali Kielty (women)
Most Improved Runner - Joey Heller (men) and Jenna Kingma (women)
Coaches' Award - Senior Class (men and women)

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder