Freshman Soni Sets USC Breaststroke Record

Dec. 2, 2005

Texas Invitational

Freshman Rebecca Soni broke USC's 100y breaststroke record while senior Ous Melloui won the 400y IM to lead the USC women's and men's swimming teams' efforts on the second day of the 2005 Texas Invitational at the Joe Jamail Swim Center in Austin, Texas, on Friday (Dec. 2).

Soni, who had already raced in the 400y IM final a few heats earlier, won the 100y breast in 1:00.35, breaking Kristin MacGregor's school record (1:00.66) set at the 1999 NCAA Championships.

Soni's time was also an NCAA automatic qualifying mark, as was freshman teammate Missy McIntyre's effort in the prelims of the race (1:01.50). She finished fourth in the final in 1:02.03. Soni, by the way, was fourth in the 400y IM in 4:17.14, an NCAA consideration time.

Mellouli, who set the school record in the men's 500y free on Thursday en route to victory, won his second race of the meet by taking the 400y IM in 3:43.66, an NCAA automatic qualifying time. Freshman teammate Vanni Mangoni posted an NCAA consideration mark by winning the consolation final in 3:53.23.

Sophomore Rhi Jeffrey, a 2004 U.S. Olympian, posted an NCAA consideration time by finishing fourth in the 200y free in 1:47.40. Junior Kalyn Keller's 1:48.93 in the event was also an NCAA `B' cut.

In addition to Soni's and McIntyre's success in the 100y breast, junior Kristina Sieper (1:02.97) and freshman Katy Houston (1:03.50) each posted NCAA consideration times in the event. Freshman Kristen Lahey was just off an NCAA `A' cut in the 100y back, taking fifth in 55.05.

Freshman Rachael Waller, Keller, junior Cait Connealy and Jeffrey won the 800y free relay in 7:15.33, an NCAA consideration mark.

Junior Mihaly Flaskay was second in the men's 100y breast in 53.73 (NCAA consideration) while sophomore Viktor Bodrogi's 47.78 and Sam Masson's 48.71 efforts in the 100y back were also NCAA `B' standards.

The meet continues Saturday. Prelims begin at 8 a.m. and finals begin at 4 p.m. (PST.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder