Drew Olson Finalist for Manning Award

Dec. 7, 2005

The Sugar Bowl Committee announced today the names of the five finalists for the Manning Award to be presented to the nation's best college quarterback. Those finalists include (in alphabetical order): Matt Leinart (USC), Drew Olson (UCLA), Brady Quinn (Notre Dame), D.J. Shockley (Georgia), and Vince Young (Texas).

The Manning Award was created in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning and will be presented to the recipient following the holiday bowl season. It is the only quarterback award which takes into consideration the candidates bowl performances.

The winner will be determined by a select panel of national media covering college football, as well as each of the Mannings.

'Each of these student- athletes also provide today's aspiring youth with a roadmap for their own success,' said Sugar Bowl Executive Director Paul Hoolahan. 'The Sugar Bowl is most grateful to the Manning family for helping pay tribute to these young men.'

'We are proud of the accomplishments all of these outstanding quarterbacks,' said Archie Manning. 'We are especially proud of how they each led their respective teams to success and an outstanding season.'

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder