Field Set For 2006 USTA/ITA National Team Indoor Championship At Washington

Dec. 7, 2005

SEATTLE, Wash. - Fourteen of the 16 teams selected to compete in the 2006 USTA/ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championship hosted by Washington, Feb. 17-20, were announced by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. The event will take place at UW's Nordstrom Tennis Center and the Seattle Tennis Club.

Joining host Washington in the tournament field will be defending champion Baylor, 2005 NCAA champion UCLA, Virginia, Duke, Florida, Florida State, Georgia, Illinois, LSU, Mississippi, Pennsylvania, Pepperdine and South Carolina. Two more teams will be determined the weekend of January 21-22 when the ITA Central and Mountain regions have their play-in tournaments.

The USTA/ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championship is ITA's longest running event, dating back to 1973. Stanford leads all schools with 12 USTA/ITA titles.

This year marks the fourth year Washington has played host to the prestigious event, after hosting the tournament in 1999, 2001 and 2004. The Huskies are a three-time National Team Indoor participant, tying for seventh twice (2004, 1999) and tying for fifth in 2001.

The collegiate dual tennis season begins in January and concludes in May with the season-ending NCAA Championships. Washington makes its 2006 debut hosting Idaho, Friday, Jan. 20, at 5 p.m.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder