Karl Dorrell Named Finalist for Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award

Dec. 8, 2005

The FWAA All-America Committee has arrived at a list of six finalists for the association's Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award and UCLA head coach Karl Dorrell is one of the finalists. Dorrell led the Bruins to a 9-2 record, their best since 1998, and a berth in the Vitalis Sun Bowl.

The six coaches - Dorrell, Texas' Mack Brown, USC's Pete Carroll, Central Florida's George O'Leary, Penn State's Joe Paterno, and Notre Dame's Charlie Weis - will be on the online ballot, which goes out to all FWAA members this week.

The FWAA membership's final vote will be revealed at halftime of the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl on Jan. 2 on ABC Television.

The FWAA has honored a major college coach with its Coach of the Year Award since 1957. Among the six finalists, there is one previous winner - Paterno.

The FWAA coaching award is named after Robinson, a coaching legend at Grambling State University for 55 years. He has more Division I victories (408) than any other coach.

The winner of the FWAA/Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award also will be honored at his campus before a football game next fall.

For more information about the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award, go to www.footballwriters.com.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder