Mike Chabala Named To 2005 NSCAA Far West All-Region First-Team

Dec. 8, 2005

LOS ANGELES - Washington senior midfielder Mike Chabala was named to the 2005 NSCAA/adidas Far West All-Region First-Team, the National Soccer Coaches Association of America announced Thursday.

Chabala, a native of Fresno, Calif., earned his first All-Region nod after back-to-back All-Pac-10 second-team selections in 2005 and 2004. He was one of seven Pac-10 players to make the All-Region first-team.

Chabala's honor marks the third-straight year Washington has had a player earn first-team All-Region acclaim. Former Husky C.J. Klaas earned first-team honors in 2004 and 2003 and went on to earn first-team All-America honors both years as well.

Chabala finished his career at Washington this season with 26 career points on five goals and 16 assists. He was a two-time second-team All-Pac-10 selection and a two-year team captain for the Huskies. Chabala helped Washington make its longest postseason run in school history, as UW advanced as far as the NCAA Sweet 16 in 2003.

Chabala will also participate in the 2006 Major League Soccer Player Combine, Jan. 12-15 at the Home Depot Center in Los Angeles, Calif.

2005 NSCAA/adidas Far West All-Region Team
First Team

GK, Tally Hall, Jr., San Diego State
D, Patric Ianni, Jr., UCLA
D, Tyson Wahl, Sr. California
D. Marvell Wynne, So., UCLA
MF, Medhi Ballouchy, Jr., Santa Clara
MF, Mike Chabala, Sr., Washington
MF, Lance Watson, Jr., New Mexico
F, Calen Carr, Sr., California
F, Robert Findley, Sr., Oregon State
F, Jeff Rowland, Jr., New Mexico
F, Willie Sims, Jr., Cal State Northridge

Second Team
GK, Eric Kronberg, Sr., California
D, Andrew Boyens, So., New Mexico
D, Andy Iro, So., UC Santa Barbara
D, Rob Valentino, So., San Francisco
MF, Colin Eames, Sr., Air Force
MF, Daniel Paladini, Sr. Cal State Northridge
MF, Brandon, Moss, Jr., New Mexico
F, Nelson Diaz, Sr., San Jose State
F, Brad Evans, Jr., UC Irvine
F, Kamani Hill, So., UCLA
F, Ryan Johnson, Sr., Oregon State

Third Team
GK, Eric Reed, Jr., UCLA
D, Sean Franklin, So., Cal State Northridge
D, Liam Girard, Jr., Denver
D, Steve Purdy, Sr., California
MF, Taylor Canel, Jr., Cal State Northridge
MF, Raul Ybarra, Jr., Loyola Marymount
MF, Matt Fitzgerald, Jr., Saint Mary's
F, Brian Byrne, Jr., UC Santa Barbara
F, Michael Clegg, Fr., Saint Mary's
F, Ryan Guy, Jr., San Diego
F, George Josten, Jr., Gonzaga

- www.gohuskies.com -

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network