Reggie Bush Named Walter Camp Football Foundation Player Of The Year

Dec. 8, 2005

NEW HAVEN, Conn. - University of Southern California junior running back Reggie Bush (Spring Valley, Calif.) has been selected as the 2005 Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year. Foundation President Allen Jackson made the announcement tonight during ESPN's 6:00 p.m. edition of SportsCenter.

The 39th recipient of the Walter Camp Player of the Year award, Bush is the fifth USC player (O.J. Simpson, 1967 and 1968; Charles White, 1979; and Marcus Allen, 1981; and Matt Leinart, 2004) to capture the honor. The Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, who is voted on by the nation's 119 Division I-A coaches and sports information directors, is strongly viewed in the college football world as the favorite to win the Heisman Trophy, which will be presented on Saturday evening in New York City.

Other finalists for the award included Leinart, Texas quarterback Vince Young, Notre Dame Brady Quinn, and Ohio State linebacker A.J. Hawk.

'We are extremely pleased with the selection of Reggie Bush as our Player of the Year,' Jackson said. 'His all-around offensive dominance for the top-ranked Trojans has been impressive and worthy of this prestigious honor.'

The 6-foot, 200-pound Bush has rushed for 1,658 yards and 15 touchdowns this season, averaging 8.9 yards a carry. In addition, he has 31 receptions for 383 yards and three more touchdowns. Bush is averaging 217.6 all-purpose yards per game this season for the undefeated and top-ranked Trojans, who have won 34 straight games. USC (12-0) will play second-ranked Texas in the Rose Bowl on January 4, 2006 for the national championship. The leader of a Trojan offensive unit that averages a remarkable 50.0 points a game, Bush was named the PAC-10's Offensive Player of the Year. In his final two games of the regular-season, Bush accumulated 554 rushing yards, including a career-best 294-yard effort in a win over Fresno State on November 19. In that game, Bush totaled a Pac-10 record 513 all-purpose yards.

Walter Camp, 'The Father of American football,' first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp - a former Yale University athlete and football coach - is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation - a New Haven-based all-volunteer group - was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

Bush and the members of the 2005 Walter Camp All-America team will be honored at the organization's national awards banquet on February 11, 2006 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven. Tickets ($250) are available by calling (203) 288-CAMP.

Walter Camp Player of the Year Recipients (1967-2005)

2005 - Reggie Bush, University of Southern California2004 - Matt Leinart, University of Southern California2003 - Larry Fitzgerald, Pittsburgh2002 - Larry Johnson, Penn State2001 - Eric Crouch, Nebraska2000 - Josh Heupel, Oklahoma1999 - Ron Dayne, Wisconsin1998 - Ricky Williams, Texas1997 - Charles Woodson, Michigan1996 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida1995 - Eddie George, Ohio State1994 - Rashaan Salaam, Colorado1993 - Charlie Ward, Florida State1992 - Gina Torretta, Miami1991- Desmond Howard, Michigan1990 - Raghib Ismail, Notre Dame1989 - Anthony Thompson, Indiana1988 - Barry Sanders, Oklahoma State1987 - Tim Brown, Notre Dame1986 - Vinny Testaverde, Miami1985 - Bo Jackson, Auburn1984 - Doug Flutie, Boston College1983 - Mike Rozier, Nebraska1982 - Herschel Walker, Georgia1981 - Marcus Allen, University of Southern California1980 - Hugh Green, Pittsburgh1979 - Charles White, University of Southern California1978 - Billy Sims, Oklahoma1977 - Ken MacAfee, Notre Dame1976 - Tony Dorsett, Pittsburgh1975 - Archie Griffin, Ohio State1974 - Archie Griffin, Ohio State1973 - John Cappelletti, Penn State1972 - Johnny Rodgers, Nebraska1971 - Pat Sullivan, Auburn1970 - Jim Plunkett, Stanford1969 - Steve Owens, Oklahoma1968 - O.J. Simpson, University of Southern California1967 - O.J. Simpson, University of Southern California

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder