Ngata and O'Callaghan Named 26th Morris Trophy Winners

Dec. 9, 2005

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Defensive tackle Haloti Ngata of Oregon and offensive tackle Ryan O'Callaghan of California have been named winners of the 26th annual Morris Trophy.

The Morris Trophy is a unique award given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pacific-10 Conference. What makes the award unique is the selection procedure, which has the starting offensive linemen in the Conference voting for the defensive winner and vice versa. It is truly a players' award.

Ngata, a 6-foot-5, 340-pound junior from Salt Lake City, Utah, was the rock in the middle of the Oregon defense that played a key role in the Ducks' 10-1 regular-season record. Usually the subject of double-team blocking, Ngata leads all defensive tackles in the Pac-10 with 59 tackles, 32 solo. In addition, he posted nine tackles for loss and three quarterback sacks and has blocked two kicks. Ngata, a first-team All-America selection, was named the Pat Tillman Co-Defensive Player of the Year in the Pac-10 in voting by the league's head football coaches and was a finalist for both the Outland Trophy and the Bronko Nagurski Trophy. It marks the second year in a row an Oregon Duck has been named a Morris Trophy winner as offensive tackle Adam Snyder, currently a starter with the San Francisco 49ers, earned the honor last season. Ngata is just the second Oregon defensive lineman to win the award as Vince Goldsmith won the inaugural award in 1980.

O'Callaghan, a 6-foot-7, 360-pound senior from Redding, Calif., has started at right tackle for California the last three seasons and has been voted first-team All-Pac-10 Conference by the head football coaches the last two years. He, along with the rest of his offensive line mates, is a key reason the Golden Bears have finished either first or second in the Pac-10 in rushing the last two years. O'Callaghan becomes just the second California player to win the offensive award, following Todd Steussie, who won in 1993.

Ngata and O'Callaghan will be presented their awards at a luncheon at the prestigious Washington Athletic Club in Seattle on January 19, 2006. The Morris Trophy is sponsored by the Morris Family of Woodway, Wash., and the Washington Athletic Club.

Previous Morris Trophy Winners

Year Offense Defense
1980 Roy Foster, USC Vince Goldsmith, Oregon
1981 Roy Foster, USC Fletcher Jenkins, Washington
1982 Bruce Matthews, USC George Achica, USC
1983 Gary Zimmerman, Oregon Keith Millard, Washington State
1984 Dan Lynch, Washington State Ron Holmes, Washington
1985 Jeff Bregel, USC Erik Howard, Washington State
1986 Danny Villa, Arizona State Reggie Rogers, Washington
1987 Randall McDaniel, Arizona State Dana Wells, Arizona
1988 Joe Tofflemire, Arizona Dana Wells, Arizona
1989 Bern Brostek, Washington Esera Tuaolo, Oregon State
1990 Pat Harlow, USC Steve Emtman, Washington
1991 Lincoln Kennedy, Washington Steve Emtman, Washington
1992 Lincoln Kennedy, Washington Rob Waldrop, Arizona
1993 Todd Steussie, California D'Marco Farr, Washington
1994 Tony Boselli, USC Chad Eaton, Washington State
1995 Jonathan Ogden, UCLA Tedy Bruschi, Arizona
1996 Bob Sapp, Washington Darrell Russell, USC
1997 Olin Kreutz, Washington Jeremy Staat, Arizona State
1998 Yusuf Scott, Arizona Inoke Breckterfield, Oregon State
1999 Travis Claridge, USC Willie Howard, Stanford
2000 Chad Ward, Washington Andre Carter, California
2001 Levi Jones, Arizona State Kenyon Coleman, UCLA
2002 Kwame Harris, Stanford Terrell Suggs, Arizona State
2003 Jacob Rogers, USC Dave Ball, UCLA
2004 Adam Snyder, Oregon Bill Swancutt, Oregon State
2005 Ryan O'Callaghan, California Haloti Ngata, Oregon
Now on Pac-12 Network
6:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder