Jerome Harrison Named To Football Writers All-America Team

Dec. 10, 2005

PULLMAN, Wash. - Washington State senior running back Jerome Harrison has been named to the 2005 Football Writers Association of America All-America team, adding to his string of postseason honors . Harrison and the rest of the FWAA All-Amerca team will be announced Saturday afternoon at 3 p.m., PST, on ABC television.

Earlier this week Harrison was named to Sports Illustrated's All-America first team and the 2005 Walter Camp Football Foundation All-America second team.

Harrison, a Kalamazoo, Mich. native, rushed for a school-record 1,900 yards, including a career-best 260 yards against UCLA. He rushed for 100-plus yards in all 11 games in 2005 and dating back to last season, rushed for 100 yards in a Pac-10-record 14 straight contests. Harrison, who last month was named to the All-Pacific-10 Conference first team, also set or tied nine single-season school records, including rushing touchdowns in a season (16) and touchdowns in a season (17), 200-yard games in a season (4) and rushing attempts (308).

Harrison, who leads the nation in rushing at 172.7 yards per game, was named one of three finalists for the Doak Walker Award, signifying the nation's top running back. Harrison was in Orlando, Fla., Thursday for the 2005 ESPN College Football Awards Show, where the Doak Walker Award was presented to USC's Reggie Bush. Additionally, Harrison was one of 10 finalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, which was also awarded to Bush Thursday in Orlando.

Joining Harrison on the FWAA All-America team were six other Pac-10 players, including three from USC: running back Reggie Bush, wide receiver Dwayne Jarrett and offensive lineman Taitusi Lutui. UCLA placed two players on the team, tight end Marcedes Lewis and kick returner Maurice Drew, while Oregon defensive tackle Haloti Ngata was the only Pac-10 representative on defense.

First selected three years after the organization was formed, the FWAA's inaugural team in 1944 included Army's Heisman Trophy tandem of Doc Blanchard and Glenn Davis, and Georgia Tech's Frank Broyles, who later became Arkansas' head football coach and athletic director.

For 62 years, the FWAA has selected an All-America team with the help of its members and an All-America Committee, which represents each regions in the country.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder