Tyson Wahl and Calen Carr Earn All-America Honors

Dec. 12, 2005

BERKELEY - California's senior Tyson Wahl was named to the NSCAA/adidas All-American first team, while senior Calen Carr was named to the All-American second team. This marks the first time in 27 years that Cal has had an All-American, and the first time in program history that two players have received honors in the same year.

Defender Tyson Wahl, who started every game for Cal in his career, was recently named to the NSCAA Far West first team, as well as the All-Pac-10 first team, along with earning Pac-10 All-Academic first-team honors. In November, the Newport Beach native, was chosen to ESPN The Magazine's Academic All-District VIII men's soccer team for his outstanding academic achievement and athletic skill. Wahl finished the 2005 season second on the team in goals (5), two of which were game-winners.

Forward Calen Carr, the 2005 Pac-10 Player of the Year, was also recently named to the NSCAA Far West first team. Carr earned Pac-10 All-Academic first-team honors for the second consecutive year as well as All-Pac-10 first-team recognition. Carr finished the season leading the Pac-10 in seven categories: shots (91), shots per game (4.33), points (30), points per game (1.43), goals (13), goals per game (0.62), and game-winning goals (6). The Berkeley native helped the team to the NCAA Tournament Elite Eight for the first time in program history after scoring two critical goals against Wake Forest in the Sweet 16.

Carr and Wahl have been invited to the Major League Soccer combine, which is being held January 12-15, 2006, in Carson, Calif. The Bears finished the season with a 14-4-3 overall record and an NCAA Tournament Elite Eight appearance.

NCAA Division I Teams

First TeamPos., Name, Cl., School, Hometown

G, Chris Dunsheath, Sr., Bradley, Rockford, Ill.D, Greg Dalby, Jr., Notre Dame, Poway, Calif.D, Tyson Wahl, Sr., California, Newport Beach, Calif.D, Marvell Wynne, Soph., UCLA, Poway, Calif.M, Mehdi Ballouchy, Jr., Santa Clara, MoroccoM, Scott Jones, Jr., UNC Greensboro, Dallas, TexasM, Yohann Mauger, Sr., Akron, FranceM, *Brian Plotkin, Sr., Indiana, Lisle, Ill.F, *Jason Garey, Sr., Maryland, Gonzales, La.F, *Ross McKenzie, Sr., Akron, New ZealandF, Jeff Rowland, Sr., New Mexico, Albuquerque, N.M.F, Willie Sims, Jr., Cal State Northridge, Los Angeles, Calif.*Hermann Trophy finalist.

Second TeamG, Phil Marfuggi, Jr., Clemson, Manalapan, N.J.D, Patrick Ianni, Jr., UCLA, Lodi, Calif.D, Julius James, Soph., Connecticut, Trinidad & TobagoD, John Latting, Sr., Davidson, Birmingham, Ala.M, Blake Camp, Sr., Duke, Danielsville, Ga.M, Dax McCarty, Soph., North Carolina, Winter Park, Fla.M, Ryan McMahen, Sr., Michigan State, Munster, Ind.M, Sinisa Ubiparipovic, Jr., Akron, Mentor, OhioF, Ryan Anderson, Soph., Missouri State, St. Charles, Mo.F, Calen Carr, Sr., California, Berkeley, Calif.F, Duke Hashimoto, Sr., SMU, Kapolei, Haw.F, Aaron King, Sr., N.C. State, Denver, Colo.F, Randi Patterson, Jr., UNC Greensboro, Hackensack, N.J.

Third TeamG, Tally Hall, Jr., San Diego State, Gig Harbor, Wash.D, Andrew Boyens, Jr., New Mexico, New ZealandD, Andy Iro, Soph., UC Santa Barbara, EnglandD, Nathan Sturgis, Soph., Clemson, St. Augustine, Fla.D, Matt Wieland, Sr., Creighton, Omaha, Neb.D, Jed Zayner, Jr., Indiana, Orland Park, Ill.M, Mike Chabala, Sr., Washington, Fresno, Calif.M, Matt Groenwald, Sr., St. John's, Mt. Prospect, Ill.M, Lance Watson, Sr., New Mexico, Nederland, TexasF, Brian Cvilikas, Sr., Old Dominion, Highlands Ranch, Colo.F, Willy Guadarama, Soph., Campbell, Cedar Park, TexasF, Sacha Kljestan, Jr., Seton Hall, Huntington Beach, Calif.F, Jacob Peterson, Jr., Indiana, Portage, Mich.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network