Dec. 13, 2005

LOS ANGELES- USC junior Heisman Trophy-winning tailback Reggie Bush, who led the nation in all-purpose running in 2005, was named the Most Valuable Player of the top-ranked, two-time defending national champion Rose Bowl-bound Trojan football team at the annual awards banquet Tuesday night (Dec. 13) at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

It was his second consecutive team MVP honor.  He also won USC's Jack Oakie 'Rise and Shine' Award for the longest play (84-yard punt return versus Washington) and was USC's Player of the Game versus Notre Dame (265 all-purpose yards), Co-Player of the Game versus UCLA (260 rushing yards) and Co-Lifter of the Year.

All-American offensive guard Taitusi Lutui and All-Pac-10 first team defensive end Frostee Rucker, both seniors, shared USC's Most Inspirational Player Award.  Lutui also received the Offensive Lineman of the Year and Co-Lifter Awards.

Sophomore defensive end Lawrence Jackson, an All-Pac-10 first teamer, won USC's Defensive Linemen of the Year Award and shared the Player of the Game versus UCLA (3 sacks and 2 forced fumbles) with Bush.

Sophomore placekicker Mario Danelo, who set NCAA records for PATs (78) and PAT attempts (81), and freshman linebacker Kaluka Maiava were USC's Co-Special Teams Players of the Year.

A complete list of the awards:
        Most Valuable Player: tailback Reggie Bush
        Co-Most Inspirational Players: offensive guard Taitusi Lutui, defensive end Frostee Rucker
        Linemen of the Year: offensive guard Taitusi Lutui (offense), defensive end Lawrence Jackson (defense)
         Co-Special Teams Players of the Year: placekicker Mario Danelo, linebacker Kaluka Maiava
        Service Team Players of the Year: quarterback Mark Sanchez (offense), linebacker Kaluka Maiava (defense)
         Co-Players of the Game versus UCLA: tailback Reggie Bush, defensive end Lawrence Jackson
        Player of the Game versus Notre Dame: tailback Reggie Bush
        Jack Oakie 'Rise and Shine' Award (longest play of the year): tailback Reggie Bush (84-yard punt return versus Washington)
        Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (for overall academic achievement): fullback Brandon Hancock
        Bob Chandler Award (for the underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character):  center Ryan Kalil
        John McKay Award (for the underclassman with the most competitive spirit): linebacker Rey Maualuga
        Courage Award: safety Scott Ware
         Co-Lifters Award: tailback Reggie Bush, offensive guard Taitusi Lutui, offensive tackle Sam Baker
        Team Captains: quarterback Matt Leinart, tailback Reggie Bush, safety Darnell Bing, linebacker Dallas Sartz

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder