AVCA names 11 Pac-10 Volleyball Players to All-America Teams

Dec. 14, 2005

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) has selected 11 Pacific-10 Conference volleyball players from five member schools to its 25th annual AVCA Division I All-America Teams.

ARIZONA'S Kim Glass, STANFORD'S Kristin Richards, and WASHINGTON'S Courtney Thompson and Sanja Tomasevic were named to AVCA's First Team.

Glass, a senior outside hitter from Lancaster, Pa., led the Pac-10 in points (6.3) and kills (5.39 per game). She added 3.01 digs and 0.39 aces per game, while hitting at .263. A three-time AVCA All-America selection and 2002 AVCA Freshman of the Year, Glass is the Wildcats' all-time career-kills leader with 2,151.

Richards, a junior outside hitter from Orem, Utah, finished the season with 544 kills, the sixth best peformance by a Cardinal in school history. She hit .272 and knocked down double-digit kills in 28 matches, including a career-best 35 against USC. Richards averaged 4.90 kills per game, the third-best average in the Conference.

A two-time AVCA All-American, Thompson led the Huskies to a national-leading .341 team attack percentage. The junior setter from Kent., Wash., leads the country with 14.83 assists per game and adds 2.44 digs and 0.59 blocks per game.

Pac-10 Player of the Year Tomasevic has a .360 hitting average, contributing 4.53 kills, 1.12 blocks, 2.68 digs and 0.32 aces per game. The senior outside hitter from Uzice, Serbia-Montenegro, has tallied 1,771 kills and 1,196 digs in her career as a Husky.

Foluke Akinradewo of Stanford, Bibiana Candelas of USC and Candace Lee of Washington garnered AVCA Second Team recognition. Jennifer Abernathy of Arizona, Bryn Kehoe of Stanford, Nana Meriwether of UCLA and Christal Morrison of Washington round out the Pac-10 contingent on the All-America teams, receiving third team nods.

The honorees will be presented with their awards at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet, which is held in conjunction with the 2005 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship in San Antonio, Texas. The ceremony will take place on Fri., Dec. 16, at the San Antonio Marriott Rivercenter Hotel.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder