Former Husky Crew Coach Jan Harville Reaps National Honor

Nov. 30, 2005

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - Former University of Washington women's rowing coach Jan Harville was the recipient of the Ernestine Bayer Award in recognition of her outstanding contributions to women's rowing, UWRowing announced.

A graduate of Seattle's Roosevelt High School, Harville rowed at Washington from 1970-73. After graduating in 1974 with a medical technology degree, she continued to row as a member of the U.S. National Team from 1978-84. Harville was selected to the Olympic Team in 1980 and 1984 and rowed on eight-oared crews that medaled at three separate World Championship regattas. She was inducted into the U.S. Rowing Hall of Fame in 1991.

Harville coached the Washington women's rowing program for 16 seasons. During that span, she was named Pacific-10 Conference Coach of the Year nine times as she led 41 UW crews to conference titles, 11 different boats to national championships and three times the UW women won the NCAA team title during her tenure.

In 2002, Harville was the recipient of the national Coach of the Year award and was named the Seattle Post-Intelligencer Sports Star of the Year. Harville's varsity eight crew won 13 Pac-10 titles, including a streak of 11 straight from 1992-2002.

On the national level, Harville served as a national team coach 10 times. She led her crews to several medals including three golds at the 1995 World Championships in Tampere, Finland.

The Ernestine Bayer Award was formerly known as the Woman of the Year Award. Harville will accept the award at the USRowing Annual Banquet in Towson, Md. on Dec. 3.

Several other individuals will be recognized at the banquet for their stellar contributions to crew. They include Matthew J. Ledwith (Jack Franklin Service Award), Dennis Smith (Julian Wolf Award), Ted Nash (USRowing Man of the Year), Jon Smart (Clayton W. Chapman Award), Gary Caldwell (John Carlin Service Award) and Anne Martin (Jack Kelly Award).

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder