Jim Brock Ballpark Dedication To Be Held January 20th

Dec. 21, 2005

TEMPE, Ariz. - The Arizona State University baseball program will dedicate Jim Brock Ballpark on January 20th during Alumni Weekend, honoring the late Dr. Jim Brock, who led ASU to two National Championships during his 23 years at the university. The baseball facility will be known as Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark.

The dedication dinner will be held January 20th in front of Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark, with festivities getting underway at 6:30 pm. There will be a cocktail hour followed by a dinner and then the dedication program beginning at 8:15. Former players and colleagues of Brock's will be on hand, and there will be a special presentation to the Brock Family and an unveiling of the new signage above the main entrance of the baseball facility. Tickets for the event will cost $100, and can be purchased through the ASU Athletic Department. Seating for the event is limited.

'The new name encompasses the three foundations of our program and we are very honored to pay tribute to a man that meant so much to Sun Devil Baseball,' said current head baseball coach Pat Murphy. 'Jim Brock helped perpetuate the tradition of excellence created by Bobby Winkles and deserves to have his name prominently associated with every aspect of our program.'

'We have been fortunate over the past few years to have added some of the best player facilities in the country,' added Murphy. 'In the coming years, we plan to add tribute areas throughout the ballpark to recognize the special components that make Arizona State Baseball one of the greatest traditions in the country. We would also like to thank the Packard Family for their constant dedication to ASU Baseball and for helping with this process.'

Brock battled cancer throughout the 1994 season and passed away just days after the College World Series that year. Brock coached a handful of Sun Devil legends, including first-round draft picks Eddie Bane, Floyd Bannister, Bob Horner, Hubie Brooks, Oddibe McDowell, Barry Bonds and Mike Kelly. All three of ASU's Golden Spikes Award winners (Horner, McDowell, Kelly) also played under Brock.

He was inducted into the ABCA College Baseball Hall of Fame in 1998 and was the 1977 and 1981 NCAA Coach of the Year. Additionally, Brock was a five-time winner of the Pac-10 Coach of the Year award (1981, 1982, 1984, 1988, 1993). Brock was an alumnus of Arizona State University, earning three degrees including a bachelor's, master's and doctorate degree.

The weekend will conclude with the annual Alumni Game, to be held on January 21st at 1 pm at Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark. There will be a pre-game ceremony in honor of Dr. Brock, as well as a special tribute to the 1981 National Championship team.

For more information on the Brock Ballpark Dedication Dinner, please contact Graham Rossini in the ASU baseball office at 480-965-3920, or via e-mail at graham.rossini@asu.edu.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network