11 Women's Soccer Players Named to Soccer Buzz All-America Teams

Dec. 28, 2005

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - All-America honors for the 2005 women's college soccer season were announced by Soccer Buzz on December 22, marking the tenth year of the magazine's annual postseason awards. 11 Pac-10 women's soccer players were named to the teams, which were decided by a vote open to all Division I head coaches and Soccer Buzz staff.

Danesha Adams and Jill Oakes of UCLA were named to the 13-member All-America first team.

Adams led the Bruins in scoring in 2005, posting 46 points on 21 goals and four assists. She set the NCAA Tournament record for points and goals in a game when she netted four goals in UCLA's 5-0 victory over Virginia in the Quarterfinals.

A 2005 first team Soccer America All-American and four-time Pac-10 All-Conference first team member, Oakes was the leader of a Bruin defense that surrendered just 12 goals in 26 matches this season. Under her leadership, UCLA posted a school record 18 shutouts in 2005, ranking fifth in the nation in goals against average (0.45) and fourth in shutout percentage (0.69). She was named a semifinalist for the M.A.C. Hermann Trophy and was a member of the all-tournament team at the NCAA College Cup.

Courtney Hooker of California was named to the second team. Hooker, who has started all 42 games of her career on the Bears' backline, was named Most Valuable Player of the 2005 Cal women's soccer team. A first-team All-Pac-10 Conference selection, Hooker was an integral part of Cal's dominating defense that finished the season ranked seventh in the nation in goals-against-average at 0.475 and eighth in shutout percentage at 0.64 (14-of-22 games).

Pac-10 Player of the Year Mallory Miller was named to the third team. Miller had a prolific senior season, breaking all 12 season and career offensive records at UA. She led the Conference in points per game (1.95) and goals per game (0.86) and was ranked nationally in both categories.

Pac-10 Freshman of the Year Amy Rodriguez and All-Pac-10 selection Kara Lang were named to the honorable mention first team.

Lang and Rodriguez were also named to the Freshman All-America first team, along with Christina DiMartino of UCLA and Meagan Holmes of USC.

Alex Gamble of Stanford was the lone Pac-10 representative on the All-Freshman second team. Fellow Cardinal Marissa Abegg of Stanford was named to the third team, and Stacey Strong of USC was named an honorable mention selection.

First Team
Heather O'Reilly, North Carolina
Christine Sinclair, Portland
Katie Thorlakson, Notre Dame
Tiffany Weimer, Penn State
Danesha Adams, UCLA
Lori Chalupny, North Carolina
Lindsey Huie, Portland
Viola Odebrecht, Florida State
Carolyn Ford, Duke
Laura Georges, Boston College
Stephanie Lopez, Portland
Jill Oakes, UCLA
Erin McLeod, Penn State

Second Team
Kerri Hanks, Notre Dame
Lindsay Tarpley, North Carolina
Brittany Timko, Nebraska
India Trotter, Florida State
Jen Buczkowski, Notre Dame
Christina Huang, Yale
Sarah Huffman, Virginia
Megan Rapinoe, Portland
Candace Chapman, Notre Dame
Courtney Hooker, California
Christen Karniski, Illinois
Marlene Sandoval, Cal State Fullerton
Tyler Griffin, Vanderbilt

Third Team
Sel Kuralay, Florida State
Mallory Miller, Arizona
Ashlee Pistorius, Texas A&M
Megan Woods, Pepperdine
Ali Christoph, Tennessee
Ali Krieger, Penn State
Jamie Rendich Beck, BYU
Kacey White, North Carolina
Angie Woznuk, Portland
Lindsay Bach, Penn State
Melanie Booth, Florida
Sue Weber, Hofstra
Laura Boyer, Marquette

Honorable Mention
Meghan Cook, Boston University
Kara Lang, UCLA
Amy Rodriguez, USC
Jess Rostedt, Virginia
Rebecca Moros, Duke
Fran Munnelly, Colorado
Julianne Sitch, DePaul
Chrissy Strini, Mississippi
Sasha Andrews, Nebraska
Marian Dalmy, Santa Clara
Kendall Fletcher, North Carolina
Becky Sauerbrunn, Virginia
Ashley Haugen, Gonzaga

First Team
Kerri Hanks, Notre Dame
Kara Lang, UCLA
Amy Rodriguez, USC
Jess Rostedt, Virginia
Yael Averbuch, North Carolina
Brittany Bock, Notre Dame
Christina DiMartino, UCLA
Megan Rapinoe, Portland
Meagan Holmes, USC
Kasey Moore, Texas
Sarah Wagenfuhr, Florida State
Julie Kafka, Lehigh

Second Team
Jessica Okoroafo, Purdue
Kylee Rossi, Tennessee
Brittany Taylor, Connecticut
Hayley Bolt, Long Beach State
Amanda Cicchini, West Virginia
Jennifer Hance, Mississippi
Crysti Howser, Yale
Allie Long, Penn State
Yolanda Odenyo, Oklahoma State
Danielle Potts, Santa Clara
Katrin Schmidt, Florida State
Alex Gamble, Stanford

Third Team
Lisa Collison, Ohio State
Kayla Lambert, Evansville
Adele Letro, Utah
Caroline Walden, Boston College
Nasra Abdullah, UAB
Edel Malone, Hofstra
Amanda Poach, Santa Clara
Marissa Abegg, Stanford
Christine Breaux, Mississippi
Nikki Krzysik, Virginia
Sarra Moller, Loyola (Maryland)
Erin Kane, UW-Milwaukee

Honorable Mention
Elizabeth Eng, Connecticut
Christie McDonald, Duke
Stephanie Power, VCU
Kim Silos, Long Beach State
Sheree Gray, Penn State
Stacey Strong, USC
Sarah Teegarden, UW-Milwaukee
Mami Yamaguchi, Florida State
Katie Kelly, Marquette
Stephanie Logterman, Texas
Carly Phillips, SMU
Dianna Pfenninger, Texas

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder