Volleyball Team Honored For Winning National Championship

Jan. 8, 2006

Nearly 1,500 fans were on hand this afternoon as the women's volleyball team was honored for winning the 2005 National Championship. Guest speakers included Washington State Governor Christine Gregoire, University President Dr. Mark Emmert and UW Athletics Director Todd Turner. Head coach Jim McLaughlin and players Candace Lee, Courtney Thompson and Christal Morrison also addressed the crowd. The ceremony included a video replay of the third game from Washington's three-set victory over Nebraska, the unveiling of the national championship banner and a presentation of the national championship trophy. The players signed autographs for over an hour at Hec Edmondson Pavilion with the line stretching around the concourse level.

The Huskies won their first-ever volleyball championship on Dec. 17 with a 3-0 sweep over top-ranked Nebraska at the Alamo Dome in San Antonio, Texas. Washington became the first team in NCAA history to sweep all six of its matches en route to the national title. The volleyball team is the third Washington program to win a NCAA Championship, joining women's crew and football.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder