2005 Pac-10 Football Wrap-up

Jan. 20, 2006

Complete Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader


Rose Bowl Presented by Citi BCS National Championship Game: Texas 41, USC 38
Pacific Life Holiday Bowl: Oklahoma 17, Oregon 14
Vitalis Sun Bowl: UCLA 50, Northwestern 38
Las Vegas Bowl: California 35, BYU 28
Insight Bowl: Arizona State 45, Rutgers 40

PAC-10 IN THE POLLS: Four Pac-10 teams finished in the final post-season Top 25 with a fifth team also getting mention. Following are the rankings of Pac-10 teams in the final AP (media) and USA Today (coaches) polls:

USC (12-1) 2 2
Oregon (10-2) 12 12
UCLA (10-2) 16 13
California (8-4) 25 25
Arizona State (7-5) t38 t35

OUT OF OUR LEAGUE: The Pac-10 compiled a stellar 26-10 (.722) mark against outside foes in 2005. It was the league's best mark against non-conference opponents since 2001 (26-9).

Longest overall winning streak - 2 games - Arizona State and California
Longest Conference-game winning streak - 23 games - USC (Pac-10 record)
Longest home winning streak - 27 games - USC (Pac-10 record)
Longest road winning streak - 15 games - USC

PAC-10 ON THE WEB: Pac-10 releases and other information can be found online by pointing your browser to www.pac-10.org.

2005 PAC-10 FOOTBALL AWARD WINNERS: Not only did USC TB Reggie Bush give the Trojans and the Pac-10 its third Heisman Trophy in the last four years, Pac-10 players won national honors for top quarterback, running back, wide receiver, tight end and place-kicker.

Heisman Trophy
Reggie Bush, TB, Jr., USC

Associated Press Player of the Year
Reggie Bush, TB, Jr., USC

Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year
Reggie Bush, TB, Jr., USC

Sporting News Player of the Year
Reggie Bush, TB, Jr., USC

Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award (best senior quarterback)
Matt Leinart, QB, Sr., USC

Doak Walker Award (best running back)
Reggie Bush, TB, Jr., USC

Fred Biletnikoff Award (best wide receiver)
Mike Hass, SE, Sr., Oregon State

John Mackey Award (best tight end)
Marcedes Lewis, TE, Sr., UCLA

Lou Groza Collegiate Award (best place-kicker)
Alexis Serna, PK, So., Oregon State

Unanimous First-Team All-America Selections
Reggie Bush, TB, Jr., USC
Maurice Drew, KR, Jr., UCLA
Dwayne Jarrett, SE, So., USC

Consensus First-Team All-America Selections
Jerome Harrison, RB, Sr., Washington State
Mike Hass, SE, Sr., Oregon State
Marcedes Lewis, TE, Sr., UCLA
Taitusi Lutui, OG, Sr., USC
Haloti Ngata, DT, Jr., Oregon

Other First-Team All-America Selections
Darnell Bing, SS, Jr., USC
Matt Leinart, QB, Sr., USC
Alexis Serna, PK, So., Oregon State

Second-Team All-America Selections
Aaron Gipson, CB, Sr., Oregon
Marvin Philip, C, Sr., California

Third-Team All-America Selections
Sam Baker, OT, So., USC
Danny Baugher, P, Sr., Arizona
Derek Hagan, WR, Sr., Arizona State
LenDaleWhite, TB, Jr., USC

Sporting News Pac-10 Offensive and Defensive Freshmen of the Year
Mike Thomas, WR, Arizona
Patrick Chung, SS, Oregon

Freshman All-America Selections
Rey Maualuga, MLB, USC
Jeremy Perry, OG, Oregon State
Max Unger, OT, Oregon

Pac-10 Awards Voted on by Head Coaches

Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year
Reggie Bush, TB, Jr., USC

Pat Tillman Pac-10 Co-Defensive Players of the Year
Haloti Ngata, DT, Jr., Oregon
Dale Robinson, MLB, Sr., Arizona State

Pac-10 Co-Freshmen of the Year
Jeremy Perry, OG, Oregon State
Mike Thomas, WR , Arizona

Pac-10 Co-Coaches of the Year
Pete Carroll, USC
Karl Dorrell, UCLA

Morris Trophy Winners (outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in Pac-10 as voted by the players)
Offense - Ryan O'Callaghan, OT, Sr., California
Defense - Haloti Ngata, DT, Jr., Oregon

INSTANT REPLAY: Like most of the other Division IA conferences, the Pac-10 utilized instant replay this season. Replay was used for all Conference games and most non-conference games played at Pac-10 sites. The replay teams consist of three persons--the replay official, a replay assistant or communicator, and a replay technician. The replay officials and replay assistants are all former Pac-10 football officials. The instant replay team will review video from the television production of the game (or video board production in the event a game is not televised), and the standard to change an on-field officiating decision will be indisputable video evidence. The Pac-10 systemvaries from that used in the NFL in a couple of significant ways. Only the replay official in the press box may stop play for a review (no coach's challenge), and the replay official, as opposed to the referee, will make the final decision to change or not change an on-field decision. Following is a summary of instant replay in the Pac-10 in 2005:

Games utilizing instant replay: 60
Number of game stoppages to review a play: 74
Number of reversals: 27
Average number of stoppages per game: 1.2
Average length of review: 2:04
Number of plays reviewed with no game stoppage: 327

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network