Softball Coaches Pick UCLA to Win 2006 Pac-10 Title

Jan. 20, 2006

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- UCLA has been selected by the Pacific-10 Conference softball coaches as the league's top team in 2006. The Bruins received 49 points, including seven first place votes in the annual coaches poll. ARIZONA finished second with 41 points and garnered one first place vote, while STANFORD was picked third with 37 points.

CALIFORNIA finished fourth with 27 points, while OREGON STATE and WASHINGTON finished fifth and sixth with 26 and 23 points, respectively. Rounding out the rest of the poll was ARIZONA STATE with 12 points and OREGON with 9 points.

UCLA finished last season with a 40-20 overall record and a 11-10 Conference mark. The Bruins advanced to their third consecutive Women's Collegiate World Series championship game last season, losing to Michigan in the best-of-three series.

It was a banner year for the Pac-10 in 2005, as the Conference sent all eight teams to the NCAA Tournament for the fourth time in its history. At least three Pac-10 teams advanced to the WCWS (California, UCLA and Arizona) for the fifth straight season. 2005 also marked the 19th straight season that a Pac-10 team has played in the championship game.

For the first time in Conference history, four Pac-10 teams tied for first place at the conclusion of the regular season with 13-8 marks-- California, Arizona, Oregon State and Stanford, with Oregon State earning the NCAA Automatic Qualifying bid. It was the first Conference title for both the Beavers and the Cardinal, while it was the second for California and ninth for Arizona.

The 2006 softball season gets underway on Thursday, February 9 with preseason tournament action. Conference play begins on Friday, March 31.

Results of the poll are as follows. Seven points are awarded for a first-place vote, six points for a second place vote, and so on. Coaches are not allowed to vote for their own team.


        School (First Place Votes)           Points	1.  UCLA (7)                          49	2.  Arizona (1)                       41	3.  Stanford                          37	4.  California                        27	5.  Oregon State                      26	6.  Washington                        23	7.  Arizona State                     12	8.  Oregon                             9
Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network