Men's Soccer Announces 2005-06 Team Awards

Jan. 21, 2006

Junior goalkeeper Eric Reed was honored as UCLA's 2005 Team MVP at the Bruins' annual team banquet Saturday evening. In addition, senior Jordan Harvey was named the Defensive MVP, and sophomore Kamani Hill received Offensive MVP honors.

Also earning team awards were Co-Rookies of the Year Brad Rusin and Sal Zizzo, Most Improved Player Mike Zaher, and Coaches' Award recepient Jonathan Bornstein.

Team awards are voted upon by the team members.

The Bruin team was honored after a season in which they won their unprecedented fourth consecutive Pac-10 Championship and shut out all regular season home opponents, a feat no other Pac-10 team had ever accomplished. UCLA also led the nation in shutout percentage, shutting out 70% (14 of 20) of its opponents on the year.

The 2005 senior class of Bornstein, Evan Corey, Harvey, Ramon Manak, Nate Pena and Ryan Valdez were recognized as the first UCLA senior class ever to win four conference titles, and each gave senior speeches. Marvell Wynne and Patrick Ianni, who were both selected in the first round of the 2006 MLS SuperDraft Friday morning, also gave a few parting words.

2005-06 UCLA Men's Soccer Team Awards

Rookie of the Year - Brad Rusin and Sal Zizzo
Most Improved - Mike Zaher
Coaches' Award - Jonathan Bornstein
MVP Defense - Jordan Harvey
MVP Offense - Kamani Hill
MVP Team - Eric Reed

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder